We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Middleton Ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

2nd Floor, but the Food, Service,exceeding what you would expect.We met the Owner Sante Calandri great guy. But the Food was just Excellent. It was just a wonderful way to spend a raining cool night It well worth a visit. 47 Commercial St Boothbay Harbor

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripenout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    170
    57
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabattus, Maine
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“italian dining.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

not realy authentic italian fare. were my wife and i live, in sabattus,maine be have davincies for one and may others MUCh more reasonabel.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lobsterloverAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic authentic Italian cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I spent three years in Ticino (the Italian speaking canton in Switzerland) and took many trips into Italy. Ports of Italy in Boothbay Harbor is the best Italian food I have had outside of Italy (the last time I was in Italy was 11 years ago). All the pastas AND sauces are homemade right in the restaurant. The owner was very welcoming and the food was exquisite! It is not your typical Italian-American restaurant experience. It is a true Italy-restaurant-type experience so the portions are not huge, but they are filling (as long as you are not expecting a bulging-belly-post-Thanksgiving-coma type of meal). Yes, it is a bit pricey, but for the quality of food you get, it is well worth it! We brought our two young daughters (5 & 8 years old), and they loved their pasta (no kid's menu but our waiter just said to order from the "contorni" (side-dish) menu. Great restaurant!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelerdukies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved our dinner here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Enjoyed the first dinner of our week in Maine at Ports of Italy in Boothbay. For starters, it was the Caprese, then the homemade ravioli, of course with lobster. Both were a hit. Even the bread with olive dipping oil was yummy. We shared the Panna Cotta and loved it. Our waiter was very attentive, but not pushy. Don't miss this place. Go up the stairs and have a wonderful meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Had a fantastic evening here. The food was outstanding and the manager and server was amazingly attentive. The pasta was delicious and fresh - the Crab cakes starter were equally so. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank thisisbeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing