We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lobster, but there are rough spots overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn

Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent lobster, but there are rough spots overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our group enjoyed a wide variety of food, great service, background music at a live piano, and a wonderful view of the harbor at Boothbay, Maine. Unfortunately, the hot food was consistently served on cold plates, making the meals just luke-warm to taste almost from the moment it was served. There's great potential here. Beyond the lobster one other highlight was the vegetable medley served on the first of two nights on our groups' stay. The texture and flavor's were perfect, but as pointed out, most of group found the hot temperature to have dissipated by the first mouthful. I wish them well as they iron out a few rough spots. -- The restaurant building is part of an inn, but I don't see a review entry possible on TripAdvisor - perhaps because they do not have a clerk on duty at the front desk 24 hours a day. Overnight rooms are "dated" but in good condition.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“We missed out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We come to Boothbay Harbor every year, and one of the highlights of our trip is always having dinner at the BHI and hearing Kevin play piano while we dine. It's always such a lovely evening. The live music and the view is such a special combination. Unfortunately, this time around the restaurant was not open. Well, it was open, just not to us - even though we were guests at the hotel. It was only open for private tour groups. We were told that the bar was open, but, the bar is inside the restaurant. So we could've sat at the bar in the restaurant, but would not have been permitted to order food? It was disappointing. So, unfortunately this time around, we had to look elsewhere. Sigh... no dinner, no Kevin - maybe next time...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reillysgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
333 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“A five star experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although it was a five star experience, I cannot give it five stars because the food was not consistent. We ate there all three nights that we stayed at the Boothbay Harbor Inn. All three nights we had the 3 course special for $14.99. We were there in October at the end of their season so I don't know if they offer this at other times.

The first night my husband and I both had half of a chicken. Although it was plentiful, it was tough. The desserts each night were ok but not exceptional.

The rest of the food was excellent. The salad each night was fresh with lettuce cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, peppers, and croutons. The mashed potatoes were yummy. The mixed vegetable with carrots, zucchini, peppers and summer squash was delicious. The Panko crusted chicken that I had two nights was one of the tastiest chicken dishes I have ever had. My husband like it so much that he also had it our last night there. The other night he had sea scallops which were also very tasty.

Everything else is five stars. It is a beautiful, large room with floor to ceiling windows looking on to Boothbay harbor. At six o'clock, a pianist arrives and plays lovely music. He is the same man who was there on our last visit four years ago.

Dining here is a lovely and relaxing way to end a day of traveling or sightseeing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good view and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We watched the sunset while we ate our dinner. Between that and the great fire they had going outside, the atmosphere was fantastic. The food and service made the night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Kautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food was excellent. The atmosphere was very nice and the piano music during dinner was a plus. The view of the harbor is spectacular and the fire pit out on the lawn was beautiful. It made for a very cozy dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing