We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not great and an intrusive host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have a lot of experience with high level inns and B&Bs, and also with lesser ones. This was one of the lesser. We stayed 3 nights, and will not be back. While our bedroom was well appointed, it did not have a dresser, but rather a fragile antique cabinet and a small closet for our belongings. The closet also held a small refrigerator, into which one could put some of the Bud Light beer that the host left out for guests. The eating area is small, and comfortable, just right for quiet intimate conversation in the morning until the host, Phil, intrudes. It is as if someone gave him a script to read, because it was unfailingly the same each morning. He did announce to guests that he gives "a little quiz" each morning, starting with: "What did you do last night?", followed by "Where did you eat?" followed by "What did you eat?" and rounding up with "What are you going to do today?". He did this with every guest/couple. If you enjoy being interrogated in the morning, this is the place for you. While it was clear that he thought that his inquisitive-ness was just part of his duties as host, we found it to be quite intrusive and rude, and he seemed never to get the hint when we were short with answers or just ignored him. He was just not very perceptive. As mentioned, it was as if someone told him: This is what hosts do. We were not the only ones who found him annoying, as people rolled their eyes when he left their area. Breakfast was subpar for the price of the room. On the other hand, the place was quite clean and convenient to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for selecting Blue Heron Seaside inn for your October visit to Boothbay Harbor. We are happy to know you found your room well appointed, clean and conveniently located to town. Although you felt the inn was 'comfortable', we regret you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
Perhaps it was overlooked at your welcome briefing to explain all of our breakfast seating options. Besides the inside dining area with the individual tables and the group table, there are also takeaway trays for those who prefer to eat in the intimacy of their own room, or on their outside covered deck overlooking the bay. I can assure you the intention of your host was a warmhearted hospitality attempt to engage conversation amongst guests in sharing travel experiences. He sometimes adds a lobster story or two, which most find interesting and fun. If you felt bothered, we are truly sorry for that.
Our afternoon complimentary offerings while you were here included homemade cookies and tea, plus a variety of cold beverages. We hope you found something to enjoy.
We appreciate the time you took this busy time of year to review your stay. All comments are important to us, and they are used as an aid in improving our service. I'll use this opportunity to update our website with the shared micro/frig closet space clarification in room #2 Seabreeze for future travelers with large luggage, so they may select the room best suited for them. Our apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We wish you peace and joy this holiday season, and always... happy future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 216 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Blue Heron in Booth Bay Harbor, Maine Oct. 21-22, 2013. I just want to express want a truly wonderful experience we had, Phil and Laura and Maria were simply great.
Wonderful breakfast in the morning along with great conversation and knowledge of area and attractions and fantastic restaurants. the Inn is beautiful and VERY comfortable and extremely neat, clean and tidy. We stayed in room #4, the bed was very comfortable, the room has a great view. I enjoyed watching the tide come in and out!
We are already planning a return visit.
Thank You,
Karen& Richard Greene
Diamondhead,Ms/New Orleans

Room Tip: room # 4 all rooms were beautiful! great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This inn, located right on the water, offers spectacular views of the harbor from the deck. The breakfasts are excellent. And the owners and their daughters are very warm, inviting, and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It is pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Boothbay harbor. We chose the Blue Heron for the proximity to town and because the rooms looked beautiful. We were not disappointed! The location is perfect and the room was so comfortable --- it's a wonder we were able to get out of that big comfy bed!

We enjoyed our mornings with Phil, Laura and Maria. Both Phil and Laura were quite helpful with tourist info. The breakfasts were adequate but not amazing. It might be worth adding a side dish to the serving --- just something a little extra like potatoes with the eggs? On our last morning we decided to venture out to the Blue Moon cafe for some pancakes and a view of the harbor.
The cookies were a nice touch in the afternoon and enjoyed the swing by the water. Suggest maybe adding a hammock or a few more adirondack chairs by the dock.

Overall, we loved our experience at the Blue Heron and will definitely return if we are ever again in Boothbay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the corners facing the harbor have more privacy and better views. We stayed on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A lovely location and beautiful clean, large and comfortable rooms make this place hard to beat! we had a wonderful two night stay with delightful home cooked breakfasts each day setting us up for exploring this gorgeous part of the country. The owners are helpful, friendly and genuinely welcoming, and we tried hard to think how we could improve the place... and failed! We are very sad to leave and determined to return.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms have best view and most private balcony choose number 6 if you can we think it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Heron Inn for six nights. The place is quiet charming, comfortable, roomy and exceptionally clean. It is only a 5 minute walk to the center of town. Breakfast was served every morning and was exceptional. Maria is an employee at the Inn. She is very nice and an exceptional cook. She works hard to keep the rooms spotless and the guests happy. Phil and Laura are the owners, they are knowledgeable about the area and were always willing to help if you need to know about attractions, recommendations about places to eat or need directions to get around. Phil greets people at breakfast every morning. He is quick with a joke and is very engaging. He gets guests talking about where they had gone the previous day and where they ate. This helped us plan our day. Our stay was enjoyable and would definitely go back. Our thanks to Phil, Laura and Maria. Well done!!! Can’t wait to come back!! Bob & Regina

Room Tip: The Inn only has 6 rooms. If traveling with more than 2 people, room # 5 is a 2 bedroom with a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Extremely clean, six room inn within walking distance of shops, restaurants, docks, etc. Off street parking for six vehicles. We stayed in Room #1 which was large and well planned. Furniture was in very good condition and every lamp and switch worked. The bathroom was modern and very clean with no complaints of knees touching walls, no low water pressure or not enough hot water. There is a shared deck with seating there and on the front porch and back lawn down to the cove. The cove is where we saw the blue heron each day of our stay.

Breakfast was okay, but nothing spectacular. A warm entrée each morning with plenty of coffee, juice, fruit, bread or muffin, yogurt, etc. It would be nice if breakfast were available a little later each morning as we hate to be on a schedule while on our days off. Maria, the young Romanian student who has worked there for the last few summers is most pleasant and really works hard to keep breakfast moving and all the rooms super neat and clean.

The hosts are pleasant and most helpful. Phil is there each morning for breakfast and is full of interesting information which he shares liberally. He really should be the spokesman for Boothbay as he has plenty of brochures, can provide directions and suggestions, and offers to help with reservations if needed. Laura was heavily invested in the design and construction of the property and it shows. The property and furnishings are lovely.

We will no doubt consider the Blue Heron again when in the Boothbay area.

Room Tip: Stairs may be a problem for some, but Rooms 1 and 2 may be reached through the front street level en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#3 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Seaside Inn

Address: 65 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront, in-town Boothbay Harbor, the newly renovated 1880's Blue Heron Seaside Inn offers six luxury size rooms and suites all with harbor views, seaside decks and modern amenities. All rooms have king or queen beds, spacious sitting area, and A/C. Dock with kayaks are available exclusively for our guests. Park on site and enjoy the convenience of fine restaurants and boating activities at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Heron Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Seaside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing