We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but not worth the cost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Heron Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Ranked #10 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good but not worth the cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I'm a dedicated Bed & Breakfast fan and I love to try new ones. We spent one night here and I thought it was overpriced. We paid $240 for the room per night. Good Points: The room was spacious, with a view of the water and the hosts were friendly. The location is good if you are going to a concert at the Opera House. However, for this kind of money, I expect more. The breakfast was ok, certainly not anything up to the level of most B&Bs I've stayed at. I think the biggest disappointment (which is not the fault of the inn but I'm just warning you!) don't expect to be able to kayak from the hotel dock any time you feel like it! You can only take a boat out at high tide, which happens twice a day (one time for us was in the middle of the night). This was the main reason that I chose this B&B - I love kayaking. At the times when we could have gone out, there was NO water. So advertised pictures of kayaks bobbing in the water from your own deck right outside were a tad misleading, IMHO.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms adjoin the breakfast area so they can be noisy in the morning. If you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingcloud33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are pleased to know you enjoyed your spacious first floor room and the harbor views during your brief one night stay at Blue Heron Seaside Inn.
It's unfortunate you weren't able to use the kayaks. There are eight hours of kayaking opportunities each day around the revolving twelve hour tide. With your afternoon check in and evening engagement at the Opera House, then morning check out, we are sorry the tide didn't cooperate with your schedule. We hope you visit again with more time to enjoy our kayaks.
It was good to hear positive things about your evening at the Opera House. The violin concert sounded wonderful.
Happy future travels, and thank you for visiting Blue Heron Seaside Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
112
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

There are so many wonderful things about this inn and the couple who own and run it. When I started to actually think about what I could write that others hadn't written before, I came up with attention to detail...all the details. From the beautiful handmade molding to the hand painted wine glasses in our room. We started coming several years ago when life was very stressful and have come back nearly every year since. The Blue Heron is like a fountain of peace in our lives. A few times we've come twice a year. We've already made reservations for October for another few days. Phil and Laura love this area and are so willing to share all the little insider places to go. You get a real sense of what Boothbay Harbor is really like from Phil's morning "chats" with breakfast. They really care that your stay is something special and that for us is priceless.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the harbor, so there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Blue Heron for 5 nights and couldn't have been more satisfied. The location was perfect. A nice 5 minute stroll to the quaint town center, the Inn itself had so much charm with every room having it's own character. The recommendations and directions Phil and Laura supplied were always spot on...and Laura's baking and cooking were the best we've had in any B&B. We couldn't leave without her recipes! As for our hosts, You won't find anyone more kind, caring and accommodating then Phil and Laura. They've become our friends and we've invited them to our home here in Singapore. Giving this B&B an excellent rating is an understatement....it is so much more..... you're at home when you stay with Laura and Phil at the Blue Heron.....As for the town of Booth Bay... Our family has been to 22 countries, and dozens of States, and Booth Bay is where we've started looking for a summer home to purchase....

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with lots of charm and character. The top floor with two rooms (Seafoam sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcozine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful inn, and can't wait to go back! Our attractively decorated room was sparkling clean, and offered a fabulous view of the harbor, as do all of the rooms. The AC ran quietly, and the refrigerator and microwave were handy to have. Shopping and many attractions and galleries in town are within easy walking distance, including the nearby Opera House where we attended a delightful concert.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Needing to get away from the stress at home, I was dying to introduce my wife to Boothbay Harbor. Looking for inns on the web typically leaves us disappointed when we step into the room chosen. Our room at the Blue Heron Inn was just perfect....lots of space, comfortable bed, and a nice view to wake up to. Starting the day with one of Maria's breakfast, especially the house-specialty, Vickery French Toast, was just what we needed to start our day. Since it had been some time since I last visited this part of Maine, our host, Phil was very helpful and accomodating with suggestions and recommendations that turned out to be much better than we anticipated. All iin all, we loved our visit to Boothbay Harbor and the Blue Heron Inn made the trip all the more worthwhile. We would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our hosts could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The Blue Heron is in a perfect location to walk everywhere in Boothbay. The home is in perfect condition, lovingly restored by the owners. We had a panoramic view of the harbor. It was our first visit to the Blue Heron and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room was large and appointed very nicely. The Chapman's thought of everything to make us co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETE6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first time staying at Blue Heron. Hosts Laura and Phil were gracious hosts. Maria prepared delicious breakfasts! Six year-old granddaughter Laura, who helped serve breakfast, stole our hearts and kept us entertained. The rooms are impeccably and comfortably decorated with furnishings from the hosts' years in Europe and Asia, the harbor views spectacular, and the inn was situated in just the right spot, well within walking distance of everything, but just on the oedge of the bustling shops and foot traffic. Phil greeted us each morning, and, with his extensive knowledge of the area, made several very helpful suggestions for outings and 'must sees'. We will certainly return to this inn, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the king-sized bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Seaside Inn

Property: Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Address: 65 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Seaside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing