We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable B&B, relaxing ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very comfortable B&B, relaxing ambience”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in room #3. When making the booking I explained our needs and Laura helped me to choose a room that was just right for us. The Inn is out of the way, but within easy walking distance to whereever you wished to go in the village. We prefer a quiet location to one where there is street traffic or restaurant/bar noise and the Blue Heron really delivered. The room was very spacious and spotless, we enjoyed the breeze from the harbor and I love those blinds that allowed air movement, yet maintained privacy. These rooms were designed, decorated and furnished with taste yet also comfort. Breakfast was plentiful and varied with lovely strata one morning and fresh baked goods every day. I looked forward to a homebaked cookie and coffee each afternoon after the whale watch or touring around. Phil was helpful on places to go/do and tips for the best time for each. We've stayed in a number of places both in USA and abroad and count the Blue Heron Seaside Inn among the finest.

Room Tip: If you have special needs regarding stairs or furnishings, have Laura help you with your choices rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeriR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
118
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Succasunna, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I think the previous review was a little harsh. While there may be some comments that are true or borderline true, this is a a very nice, well maintained inn. We've stayed in many B&B's over the years in this country and in Europe. Blue Heron would rate very well in many aspects and fall just a little short in others.
Pros.....the location is perfect. It's a few minute walk into the center of town and right on the water. The owners maintain the property very well.....lots of flowers, very clean both inside and out. They did an excellent job of refurbishing the home and the rooms are all tastefully decorated with items they brought back from the times the lived in England and S. Korea. Phil, one of the owners, is an ex-marine and recipient of the Purple Heart. He is extremely pleasant and knowledgable about the area, offering good suggestions on what to do and stories about the history of the inn and the town every morning at breakfast. We didn't see Laura, his wife, after we arrived, but she maintains the gardens. There are kayaks there for the use of the guests, though the paddleboat that was advertised was nowhere to be found so I'm guessing it's either being repaired or out of service at the moment. Those things happen.
Also, the website makes no misrepresentation about the changing tide, which is also mentioned in other reviews. This is pretty common so I don't understand what the issue was in the previous review. The tide goes in and out every six hours, moving up an hour each day. Pretty typical. We had plenty of opportunity to use the kayaks during our three night stay there. It was never an issue.
There was offsite parking which was adequate for each of the six guest rooms and the young lady who served breakfast and maintained the rooms was pleasant and did an excellent job. There is a nice sized refrierator in the rooms along with a microwave and flat screen TV. The bathrooms, at least ours, was not small at all. I don't understand that complaint. The porches were very large but the reviewer is right.......there are no private porches, they are all shared. And if someone comes up the back steps and you have an inside room, as we did, they are passing your windows every time. If you are looking for privacy, book an outside corner room.

The average......Breakfast was just okay. Nothing over the top. Blueberry pancakes the first day were cold and burnt. The other two days we had a quiche and another baked egg dish. Breakfast includes a little dish of fresh fruit and some bagels or wheat bread. All are store bought, as are the mini pastries served one morning. Store bought is unusual for a B&B. What's also unusual are the store bought cookies put out in the afternoon with lemon water. That's a big mistake for a B&B. Every one we've ever stayed at either did a small snack event in the afternoon or served homemade cookies each day. That's pretty much a staple. If you're going to do store bought, you probably shouldn't do any at all.
The setup for breakfast is kind of different. It's either served or buffet style depending on what's served and I'm not sure there's enough seating if everyone comes down at once. We saw someone come out of one of the rooms for coffe and when Phil asked if they wanted breakfast the guset told him they were going around the corner for breakfast. We thought that was strange....until we got the cold burnt pancakes.
It's true that the owners aren't around too much. An exchange student from Romania watches the inn during the day. She's been there two years and is very pleasant and helps you with abything you need, but she's not one of the owners. Actually, this is the first time we ever checked out and didn't see the owners when we left. I would think you'd want to be there to thank your guests on checkout.
So it's kind of a mixed bag. I think that sometimes we forget there are things going on in the lives of innkeepers that may affect the operation at times. So I'll chalk some things up to that. Overall, it's a very nice inn, and exceptionally clean which is always an issue for us. And the proximity to town is another plus, as are Phil's stories. If they would fix just a few minor things, this is a five star B&B. Until then......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place has a little problem with adjectives. We came here excited about Boothbay and the ambience. We stayed in the "harbor lights" room which did have a nice view but that's where it ends. First the room was advertised as having a "large private deck". Apparently the owners do not know what the word "private" means. It was a shared deck with our neighbors in full view no less that a few feet away. Hugely disappointing. Second, advertising central air does not qualify if you never turn it on. The inn was hot and stuffy most of the time. They thankfully had an electric A/C next to the bed but that is not "central air". Thirdly do not expect any ammentities at all. Locked kitchen, no soda or water. Two little trays of ice. A plate of cookies that looks like it hasn't been touched in a year. Oh and I laugh at their idea of a "spacious" bathroom. You could hit your knees on the door sitting on the toliet and the shower stall was a small insert. Owners are hardly around so a lot is left up to the poor house keeper. No access to a computer to print boarding passes. No dvd player. In room coffee and tea amounts to nuking some instant in your tiny little microwave. No newspaper at all. Note: At low tide which is about 2/3rds of your day the harbor becomes a mud flat and you can't use the kayaks unless you want to trudge out onto the mud. Boothbay was charming and unique but next time we will seek more honest lodging.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way to Acadia. The room was extremely clean (Seafoam suite)and it was obvious that the owners pay attention to the little details that keep the rooms looking fresh. The king bed was huge and very comfy with nice linens. We arrived very late and left the next morning. The owner gave us some very helpful tips for the next leg of our drive (like helping us avoid a local festival that would likely have caused major traffic slow down) and a tip on a gem of a diner that makes it's own Whoopie pies.

Room Tip: The seafoam suite is very spacious and it isn't obvious on the description, but this is a two be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winstonteaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As soon as we pulled into the driveway of the Inn I knew I chose the right place to stay. It was as beautiful as a painting. The flowers were lush and added to the charm of the Inn. But the best part of staying here is Phil and Laura. They make your stay a great experience. They have great suggestions for where to go to dinner and activities to do nearby. They are truly wonderful to talk to! Our room was perfect! On the 2nd floor with a fabulous four poster bed and a wonderful porch to sit on and take in the view. It was very large and furnished beautifully! And I can't forget the breakfasts......my favorite was the blueberry French toast! All in all a perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judi521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This inn is a top tier property. The rooms are large and immaculate and all of them have expansive views of the harbor. Breakfast is delicious. The innkeepers, Phil and Laura, are welcoming and helpful. The location in the harbor is within a 3 minute walk of the restaurants and shops. For folks with mobility concerns there are two rooms on the ground floor and the walk to the shops is on flat ground. Most enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location in town. The rooms are very nice and have a great view of the harbor. Be sure not to miss breakfast, its outstanding. Paul gave great recommendations that led to some of our favorite experiences on our trip to Maine. Would absolutely recommend this to any friends going to Maine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisonbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
355 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Seaside Inn

Property: Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Address: 65 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront, in-town Boothbay Harbor, the newly renovated 1880's Blue Heron Seaside Inn offers six luxury size rooms and suites all with harbor views, seaside decks and modern amenities. All rooms have king or queen beds, spacious sitting area, and A/C. Dock with kayaks are available exclusively for our guests. Park on site and enjoy the convenience of fine restaurants and boating activities at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Heron Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Seaside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing