We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Ebb Tide Restaurant - CLOSED

Ebb Tide Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped in here with my wife after passing by the place a few times and noticing the fresh peach shortcake sign. I can't say much about the food as I only had the peach shortcake, but the shortcake was great. Diner like atmosphere, small but comfortable. Good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MATravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tried the scallop dish.........very skimpy, many cut in half. Fairly tasteless and unimaginative. I've had better scallops from Costco! My daughter had a sautéed lobster dish......equally pathetic. Small portions.......IN MAIN FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!! This place was a total waste of time and money. But the waitress was very friendly. That's about the only good thing I can say about it. For the quantity and quality we should have paid less than half what we paid. I won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank born2dans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington MA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude and Disappointing”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My friend and I had read reviews from a travel book recommending Ebb Tides. I ended up trying the clam chowder and my friend ordered a fried haddock sandwich. Now I come from Massachusetts so I get that we may make it a bit different down here, but the chowder tasted like milk put on top of potatoes and a bit of clam. There was no salt or texture or anything. My friend's haddock sandwich was soggy and oily and the batter crust was falling off of the fish - it was just a mess.

To add it it, our waitress (now I had seen other waitresses interact fine with their customers) was extremely rude when I just asked for normal water. I get that I should have just asked for plain tap, but it was after my friend had ordered some other drink and I misspoke. She goes into the kitchen and yells - "she orders normal water. What the heck is normal water??" Now this is not a big restaurant so the whole place could hear this.

I don't know. I don't like to judge a restaurant completely by its service but I think this was a bit of both. Especially because I had driven up to Maine for a vacation, I just didn't expect someone to do that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had eaten breakfast here MANY years ago (over 25) and remembered it as being very good so we were excited to give it a try again. We were very disappointed. He had the blueberry pancakes (which is really what we came for) and they were thick and dense and undercooked. They charge a lot to add blueberries to the pancakes and they don't have real maple syrup available (not even for an additional fee). I had the bacon and eggs with a cinnamon roll. The eggs were standard fare, the bacon was disappointing, and the cinnamon roll was Ok but not worth the calories. Saddest of all, the iced tea I ordered came in a tiny cup and I was never offered a refill (which I assume means no free refills). It's criminal to charge so much for such a tiny cup of tea and not even give a refill. Service was fine, but there was only one other table occupied when we were there. I will not be trying Ebb Tide again despite the positive reviews.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Would not choose the desserts here!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Tried the home made desserts-Coconut cream pie.
Too sweet! Would not order again!
The staff were friendly and the service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAUREENH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebb Tide Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing