We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little lunch spot right on the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Moon Cafe

Blue Moon Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WE ARE CLOSED FOR THE 2016 SEASON - HAVE A GREAT WINTER AND WE WILL SEE YOU IN THE SPRING OF 2017! The Blue Moon Cafe serves breakfast and lunch 7 days a week and is conveniently located on Commercial Street right on the water. The restaurant offers both indoor and outdoor seating overlooking scenic Boothbay Harbor. The atmosphere is casual and we serve fresh and creative food at reasonable prices. Several of the Cafe’s specialties include, Fresh Baked Muffins, Cinnamon Pecan Crusted French Toast, Homemade Corned Beef Hash, Breakfast Burritos, Maine Lobster Rolls, Haddock wraps, Reubens and Crab Quesadillas. We also serve beer, wine and spirits so you must try one of Fred’s Most Excellent Bloodies which is always a favorite for Sunday Brunch. On Sundays we serve Lobster and Crab Benedicts as well as special seafood omelets. Please contact us about hosting a private dinner party on our gorgeous deck for 10 or more people.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little lunch spot right on the water.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Easy, quick, delicious lunch, and with an awesome view!! Good variety of soups, sandwiches, seafood lunches.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanStearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    109
    27
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USAFret
Level Contributor
239 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had just come off a harbor cruise and since the Blue Moon was right there we decided to try it. There was a nice selection and after placing our order we took a seat on the patio. They brought our order out and we enjoyed a very pleasant lunch. It is a very nice inexpensive place to have lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We really enjoyed a great breakfast at a reasonable price. The view was wonderful and the service fast. Nothing fancy, but a great value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertS888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have been to Boothbay several years, and decided to try this little tucked away place, which has a terrific view of the harbor. Based on previous Trip Advisor reviewers, we went for breakfast. Fred makes a great meal, and delivers to your table. We checked out the lunch menu, and it looked sooooooooo good, we went back another day for lunch. Now I'm not sure which we prefer, breakfast or lunch???
Seating is inside, small area, or outside, small area--with great view of the harbor. Sorry we didn't find this place years ago, but will definitely put it on the list for next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 50joanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary W, Public Relations Manager at Blue Moon Cafe, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us and I am glad that you like both our breakfast and lunch menus. Come back next summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just as I stepped out of my car in front of the Blue Moon Café - I saw someone about to 'take' the OPEN sign out of the small front yard. When I inquired as to whether lunch was over - he told me that I could still come inside - place my order - and take my time eating lunch on the patio. Even though they actually were closing for lunch - the staff treated me as if I was the 1st customer of the day! I had the soup and 1/2 sandwich special. Sat on the patio over-looking the Boothbay harbor. And, was repeatedly told to 'take my time' to enjoy. ~Cute café with a very friendly staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailor330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary W, Public Relations Manager at Blue Moon Cafe, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad that you got in just before closing. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Cafe also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Blue Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing