We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't be fooled by the decor when you walk in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant

Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Ansonia, CT
Level Contributor
196 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the decor when you walk in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

When we first walked in we were both taken aback by the decor, being a bistro we were expecting it to be a bit more upscale but don't be fooled by this! The hostess came over and told us there is a second floor partially open to the elements and a third floor open air deck. We chose the second floor bar area. The menu is very extensive offering appetizers, tapas, and full entrees. I ordered the hangar steak with a peppercorn sauce, broccoli, and potatoes. It came exactly as prepared and was very good. The fingerling potatoes could have used a but of butter but later on I realized there was enough sauce from the steak for them. My partner had the seafood risotto and he said it was very good. We both enjoyed this place, it's very unpretentious and laid back but with great food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank javaandjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    248
    69
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tasty and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food was really flavorful and the bartender was really helpful. The views from the roof are spectacular of the entire harbor

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEWebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Relaxing and Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A well liked restaurant in the middle of Boothbay shopping area. The third floor has rooftop dinning which allows one to easily overlook the beauty of the harbor. The food is delicious and reasonably priced in comparison to the rest of the market pricing for that area. A large variety of cuisine from seafood to steak. The salads are very delicious and worth checking out. The service is polite and the selections varied. A good dining experience that would draw me back if given the chance. You can't go wrong with this choice!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church Va
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Peach sangria to celebrate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ordered too much and ate it all anyway. Not sure I'd do the deep fried avocado on the salad again but the empanadas were good although the dough could have been a bit thinner. The tiramisu was not my favorite as it was mostly whipped cream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank millede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sat on the top floor outside, looking out to the bay. Had many beers and some great food. Chef knows what she is doing. Spanish inspired orzo dish was wonderful. Charcuterie plate was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank welshdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing