We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot night or day”

Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Stratham
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot night or day”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were told this place was best during a warm sunny afternoon, but we went in the evening into dusk and couldn't have been happier. Service was friendly and a little casual, but when you are enjoying a evening with friends outside, its perfect. Fair wine selection, food was great, a nice balance of the expected fresh Maine seafood and inventive twists. The scallops with fruit was amazing. Portions were "small plate" but the prices were no so crazy to prevent you from ordering a selection to sample. Well done Bistro, hope to get back here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisabI238SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    280
    79
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth wait”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

It is on third floor- a climb and by the time we finished our wonderful drinks at bar- our table was ready- the food was fabulous! Peppercorn steak- Ribeye steak- will go back again ....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“good menu and service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We ate dinner at the Boathouse Bistro after having drinks and a snack for lunch the same day. The menu is partly Maine traditional and partly upscale. The white sangria is a tasty refreshing drink. The fried avocado salad was worth trying and delicious. Of course, we also had lobster too, which was good. The service was attentive and the staff were friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tapas!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ate here two of the four nights we were in Boothbay for a conference. The variety of tapas to choose from was challenging. They all looked so good. Service was excellent! I'll definitely return when I'm back in the area!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gradygrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After reading the reviews here, we selected this restaurant for our first dinner in Boothbay Harbor. We've been visiting the town for close to 40 years, but hadn't been back in a while. Boothbay drinking water is a bit funky tasting...not a problem unless the food you order tastes exactly like the water. I ordered a spicy shrimp and orzo entree in which the shrimp, the orzo, and the vegetable all had the funky taste of the town water. Perhaps it had been sitting on a steam table in which the funky water became funky steam permeating the food?? Just guessing here. My husband order a creamy pasta and lobster dish which had no real flavor other than that of cream. When the waiter inquired about our meals, I politely mentioned that perhaps they could use some work. He simply turned his back and walked away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gazell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boathouse Bistro Tapas Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing