We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Locally caught lobster is our specialty. Several hundred pounds are stored in our sea water tank. You may select your own from the tank and watch as they are prepared for cooking in our large outdoor pots. We have all sizes of the tasty shellfish, from one to four pounds. To those new to lobster, we will gladly assist on how to best eat them and explain the differences between hard and soft shell. The Outdoor Patio at The Lobster Dock The flavor of Maine is further captured in our other offerings. Stews and chowders are prepared daily from only the freshest ingredients. The shrimp and scallops we use are caught in the waters of the Boothbay Region. Clams are also supplied by local diggers most every day. Our mussels are grown on a salt water farm in Tenants Harbor. Fish caught in the North Atlantic are supplied to us from Boothbay Fish Dealers. We accept only the freshest available. It is not unusual for us to refuse deliveries that do not meet our quality standards.
Boothbay, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I have eaten many times at The Lobster Dock. Its always a great meal and a great time. Owners Mitch and Dawn Weiss are fabulous as is their staff "The Dock Crew". Prime rib is superb, crab cakes are delicious and the fried seafood is fantastic. Make this restraunt a must when visiting Boothbay Harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cunningham519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    314
    106
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ate here every day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our family has vacationed in Boothbay Harbor for the last two summers. A local recommended The Lobster Dock the first day, and we have literally eaten there once a day for a combined seven vacation days. We thought we were a little crazy for this, until we invited family with us this year and they insisted on eating here daily as well. This year, we also sampled a couple of restaurants seen on TV (Clam Shack/Kennebunkport and Reds/Wiscasset). I would drive past both of them every day to eat at The Lobster Dock. You cannot beat the hot lobster rolls! The one time I tried the double lobster tail and the preparation was better than any of the other four restaurants we also ate at in Boothbay Harbor. My wife says the clam chowder is to die for!

You can't beat the service, or the view, and especially the lobster rolls. This town and this restaurant has now become a part of our family. Not a week goes by that one of us Texans doesn't mention "The L-ah-bster D-ah-ck".

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "trendy" lobster shack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

As you travel along the water in Booth Bay Harbor The Lobster Dock stands out with their red umbrellas and "newer" look. We got there about 5 pm on a Monday walked right up to order (it felt like it might rain any minute) and had the lobster meal and kids pasta. This is where we found ShipWreck Summer Ale -- fantastic beer with lobster. The lobster was maybe slightly over cooked but the corn was perfect -- pass on the biscuit which seems out of a bag. The vibe is more "trendy" than some of the other places in town but I'd be up for trying it again on a future trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SFbelle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hmmm....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ordered the Bloomin' Onion, Clam Roll, and Clams...The onion was the best, the other items were so, so. Had to ask for more dip for the onion. It is a fast food restaurant...was disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortune123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
257 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great views and good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Ate here while staying one night in BBH on our way to Bar Harbor. We had fried clam strips, fried shrimp and onion rings. Everything was fried perfectly and the view while we ate our delicious dinner was beautiful. Service was quick and friendly. Try one of their whoopie pies --made there and they are delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wiggygailTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing