We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lobster roll”
Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Locally caught lobster is our specialty. Several hundred pounds are stored in our sea water tank. You may select your own from the tank and watch as they are prepared for cooking in our large outdoor pots. We have all sizes of the tasty shellfish, from one to four pounds. To those new to lobster, we will gladly assist on how to best eat them and explain the differences between hard and soft shell. The Outdoor Patio at The Lobster Dock The flavor of Maine is further captured in our other offerings. Stews and chowders are prepared daily from only the freshest ingredients. The shrimp and scallops we use are caught in the waters of the Boothbay Region. Clams are also supplied by local diggers most every day. Our mussels are grown on a salt water farm in Tenants Harbor. Fish caught in the North Atlantic are supplied to us from Boothbay Fish Dealers. We accept only the freshest available. It is not unusual for us to refuse deliveries that do not meet our quality standards.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty lobster roll”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Delicious lobster roll. Friendly staff. The lobster stew was heavy on the cream and the steamers were fine. Pretty good beer selection on tap. Nice location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    335
    116
    45
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, ME
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Lobster Dock is a great place to spend a beautiful summer day. Sitting outside with a seafood platter is a nice way to relax and enjoy the view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryWashington_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent seafood with a great view. Decor typical Maine picnic style. Seating both indoors and outdoors. Good service. Good value. I recommend it for a casual delicious meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BearForceOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APEX
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Whole Maine Lobster”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great price for whole lobster- the twin lobster meal is an excellent deal. Also enjoyed the house-made blue cheese dressing with the fried mushrooms. Ate inside as it was a dark wet cold night but could definitely imagine how nice it would be at the outdoor tables for lunch on a nice day. Wait staff was very present offering to clear finished plates and refill drinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseM_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view. The food... not so much”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our table ordered the fried seafood platter and a lobster stew. Both were bland and disappointing. The friendly staff and wonderful view of Boothbay Harbour were nice, but not enough to get us to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nom_prenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing