We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lobster Dock

The Lobster Dock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Locally caught lobster is our specialty. Several hundred pounds are stored in our sea water tank. You may select your own from the tank and watch as they are prepared for cooking in our large outdoor pots. We have all sizes of the tasty shellfish, from one to four pounds. To those new to lobster, we will gladly assist on how to best eat them and explain the differences between hard and soft shell. The Outdoor Patio at The Lobster Dock The flavor of Maine is further captured in our other offerings. Stews and chowders are prepared daily from only the freshest ingredients. The shrimp and scallops we use are caught in the waters of the Boothbay Region. Clams are also supplied by local diggers most every day. Our mussels are grown on a salt water farm in Tenants Harbor. Fish caught in the North Atlantic are supplied to us from Boothbay Fish Dealers. We accept only the freshest available. It is not unusual for us to refuse deliveries that do not meet our quality standards.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice casual dining spot with a big menu, great steamers and a wonderful view of the bay. Plenty of outdoor seating and parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    315
    106
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Want great chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great place to sit, eat good food, and watch the boats in the harbor. The chowder here is one of the best I've ever had. It isn't the pasty kind you get at a lot of places, but has a nice milky/broth consistency. The lobster rolls are pretty good too. You order at a window and the food is brought to you at your table. Our service was very good and the staff is friendly. Will definitely keep going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worth a trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The crab cakes were awesome... if you are lobstered out, I recommend giving them a try! The lobstah roll was also incredible.... Add a pitcher of cold beer and the beautiful views of the harbor and it was a perfect lunch spot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Best Lobster Roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went here based on the reviews on TA and were not disappointed! Casual atmosphere, outside dining overlooking the harbor - terrific! And the food was wonderful! Two of us got the lobster roll which was awesome! Huge pieces of fresh lobster in a nice soft bun. Our teen granddaughters both got the fried shrimp - huge plates filled with wonderful fresh shrimp. They normally pick at their food, but not this time! They loved it and ate just about everything! What they could not finish, Grandpa did! The service was great - fast and very friendly. Definitely highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Haddock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went there immediately after the disappointing portions at the Boothbay Lobster Wharf. The portion was huge an entire side of haddock. Not only was it huge it tasted great. We were so impressed we went back the next day. It is also right on the harbor with great views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Dock also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Lobster Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing