We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Dining at its Best”

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A piece of authentic Maine history, The Thistle Inn still stands as a place to gather and celebrate what makes life all the more worth living: great food, great company, and a home away from home. Originally built in 1861 for a prominent sea captain, our restaurant and Inn embody the unique period character of Maine’s past, with updated fixtures for modern comfort. From our seaside favorites to our world-class wine list, our menu is an exploration of classic coastal cuisine prepared with nature’s freshest ingredients. Guests looking to extend their visit will find six different lodging options at their fingertips, and the best of Boothbay Harbor just a short walk from their quarters. Whether it’s a meal that brings you to us, or an escape to our quaint Inn, we invite you to relax, stay awhile, and soak up some true downeast hospitality.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
166 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining at its Best”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you enjoy sitting outside under magnificent trees, eating really good food, and experiencing friendly service, this is the place. On a cool evening in Boothbay, there is no better spot for outdoor fine dining and no place better for fine dining (period) than perhaps the Spruce Point Inn. We had baked Haddock, fresh salads, and just the right dessert to finish off the meal. More than worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    17
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
242 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Service”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Enjoyed our dinner and being hosted by Sasha and Richard. Generous martinis, charred Caesar salad fresh raw oysters, a supple california chardonnay, and seared halibut dinner feature- all were delicious. Be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Year-Round Special Occasion Choice in Boothbay Harbor”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We always look forward to coming here. In the summer, the outdoor garden with the lights in the trees provide a magical atmosphere. Despite being so close to downtown, the garden is quiet and a wonderful place to enjoy a leisurely dining experience. In the winter, the bar is cozy, the dining rooms are full of people you know. There are always wonderful choices on the ever-changing menu. We think of The Thistle as a special-occasion place to be enjoyed often, like to celebrate - It's Friday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CricketNut91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma.
Level Contributor
166 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great great food!!!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Ate there last sunday with my wife both had a great meal. I had the $32 Steak a aged 30 day filet with mashed potatoes beets and spinach with a little sauce, That was great. My wife had the Spagetti squash on a portabella mushroom with other veggies in it She loved it.Its not to cheap but well worth the money. For a app, try the yellowfin tata tuna that also was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank middleboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in BBH”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This restaurant is in BBH, a sea coast town. Most restaurants in town have great views. This restaurant does not have a view of the water. The food exceeds the lack of a view. The food is consistently great. We have been here many times and we are never disappointed. The crab appetizer is always a treat. Last night I enjoyed the scallop special. The food's presentation could be featured in a magazine. After admiring the presentation, I was delighted by the very tender scallops. They were medium sized, pan seared, and truly a culinary delight.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing