We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, Maine”

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Thistle Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Thistle Inn is the perfect mix of fine cuisine and casual fare. We use only the freshest ingredients and everything is home made, including salad dressings, fresh baked breads and desserts. The best way to describe our food is an eclectic mix of American cuisine with a hint of international flavors. We let the availability of local produce and seafood influence the menu.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
552 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Thistle Inn, Boothbay Harbor, Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Charming spot with very good food. Great service, nice ambience. Grilled romaine salad, Maine shrimp risotto, and haddock special were all perfectly prepared.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    62
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet dining in a classic New England setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful dining experience at The Thistle Inn over the Labor Day weekend. The atmosphere was classic New England, with noteworthy art on the walls blended with local historical ephemera. Our server Karen was pleasant and very competent, frequently checking in to see how we were doing and if we needed anything.

The food itself was excellent - very creative and flavorful in its execution and presentation. We split the Caprese salad, featuring fresh buffalo mozzarella and ripe heirloom tomatoes; the sprinkling of crystallized ginger added a touch of sweet to the balsamic vinegarette. My Parmesan and lime juice encrusted haddock was a exquisite balance of favors while maintaining the delicate flavor of the fish. My boyfriend's pan-seared Scottish salmon was very fresh, moist and cooked to perfection.

We will definitely plan a return visit when we come back to Boothbay Harbor later this Fall. If you're looking for an exceptional meal in a traditional New England setting, look no further than The Thistle Inn!

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma.
Level Contributor
285 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

After having a wonderful meal there last year I couldn't wait to get the gang back for another dinner. And again we weren't dissappointed. The jerk steak was totally awesome, one pound of delicious meat seasoned perfectly. One of our group said the mussells he had were the best he's ever eaten. We tried a nice selection of local beers and the home made desserts were awesome,especially the ginger ice cream! They ran out that night and I'm not surprised. Delicious. It's nice to know that for not more than a mediocre meal in another place in Boothbay you can get fine food like this. I'm already counting the days untill next year!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ricka..
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Fine Dining in Boothbay Harbor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The proprietor Max & his chef have created an excellent fine dining establishment in Boothbay Harbor that, fortunately for local residents, is open year round so that he keeps his very professional & capable staff serving wonderful food, wine & cocktails along with a great selection of local microbrews on tap throughout the year. I highly recommend everything, but especially the Veal Shank Special when available

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JimBoothbayCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“First stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our first stop when we arrive in Boothbay for dinner. Great food, service. We always sit at the bar which use to be an old skiff (boat) great atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank rcpond17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing