We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I knew I shouldn't have ordered”

Boothbay Harbor House of Pizza
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I knew I shouldn't have ordered”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I usually don't judge a book by its cover. But when I walked into this place I should have walked out. I ordered 2 chicken gyros and an order of fries. After seeing the other tables food come out and what they had in the case I was expecting a good meal and was excited. What was brought to my table was not worth the 20 $ I paid. A whole tomato worth of slices and about a half of onion with soupy taziki running down my arm. No flavor. The chicken was Ok but I was expecting the meat from a cone like lamb meat comes. It was chicken breast. Not bad but deffinately needed more seasoning. The fries, while obviously looking like fresh cut potatoes, were as flaccid as anything I have ever seen. They could have been fried like 4 minutes longer and they would have been perfect. The ounce of water that came out of the ketchup bottle before the ketchup after I shook it was gross too. They charge half the price of your drink for a refill too.. really? I ate because I was hungry. But never again. The good reviews and what I seen were a big build up. However they didn't deliver. Ps the cashier sitting on her ipad out in the dining room is so off putting

Helpful?
3 Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So, so....”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Not the best pizza. Not very good quality ingredients, too doughy, heavy in your stomack. Rather go to McSeagulls for pizza.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellente!!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

wife and I were in Booth Bay Harbor for the Columbus Day holiday weekend and were "fished out" by the 3rd night so we decided on pizza for Sunday night. we rode by Hannaford's supermarket on the way back into town and wife spotted it on the opposite side of the street in plaza. good choice we made. we ordered up a large Hawaian pizza to share and it was GREAT.

as we were waiting, we did notice the restaurant was very clean, the owner was friendly and they also sold pizza by the slice if you prefer and they also had some mighty fine yummy looking calzones in the casement

I would highly recommend House of Pizza for those traveling to and staying in Booth Bay Harbor and for the locals as well. its as good as we get at home if not better

to top it all off, if you cannot decide what to order, they have a great web page as well to give you a good idea what to order if you're undecided

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banditoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Casual Food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have used this establishment for eating in and take out. The food is excellent - both pizza and particularly the cheese steak sandwich (with mushrooms). Service is very good with a strong family character in style and the owners. Food is promptly and excellently prepared with wait time at a minimum. It is the best pizza/sandwich/Italian food place in town at a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza Stromboli”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is located in a strip center just outside of town, don't be fooled because the pizza is incredible. We had a hand tossed thin crust pizza and a spinach and cheese Stromboli. The sauce is to die for and the pride of the product is evident. The staff is incredibly friendly and truly cares about the experience. Certainly worth the stop if you are looking for a break from lobster and chowder. We will certainly head back again before our trip is over.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brimstone120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boothbay Harbor House of Pizza also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Boothbay Harbor House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing