We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Huge portions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Cow Ice Cream

Island Cow Ice Cream
Cuisines: Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: A new lunch spot with an emphasis on organic. They serve fresh mango sorbet, lemon ginger ice cream, baked treats. The owner is Robert Walters, a great guy who loves quality food.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Crowded, noisy, friendly and we loved it all. Oh, yes,
Yummy ice-cream and toppings.. The only thing they could do better is add more tables.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level Contributor
250 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Some of the best ice cream I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

There are 3 ice cream shops within sight of one another at Boothbay Harbor, and Island Cow is hard to beat. The ice cream is incredibly fresh, made by the owner from, if I heard him correctly, his own cattle. The flavors are eclectic and suggestions are made on how to combine them for the optimal flavor explosion. We came late in the day and they had run out of homemade pastries and sandwiches by that time of night, but my guess is that they are special as well.

For reasons I don't understand, there are long lines at the other ice stores, but not at Island Cow. Island Cow is a little out of the way (by about 100 yards) and maybe that accounts for the smaller clientele the night we went there. It certainly isn't because their ice cream isn't amazing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
“Boothbay Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ignore the long line down the street. Seek out this new, hole-in-the-wall establishment with creamy, organic ice cream to die for. Highly recommend the Heath bar , but you can't go wrong with any of the 15 or so flavors. Doesn't look like much - but the ice cream is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The smaller (and better) ice cream shop in Booth Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Fantastic organic ice cream. Mocha Chip was wonderful. Coffee Chip was wonderful. Chocolate was wonderful.
The vegetarian sandwich with Avocado, Tomato, Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Arugula on Focaccia was fantastic though melting the cheese would have made it even better. I rarely rave about food places, but this one is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mfmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had to stop at the Cow Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife is a fan of all things bovine. We had to stop in just for the name. We were happy with the ice cream. They have a great selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJShoreHomeFinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Cow Ice Cream also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Island Cow Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing