We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood, sushi & raw bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mine Oyster

Mine Oyster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seafood, sushi & raw bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Located on the waterfront with good views of the harbor. Great raw bar with a dozen different oyster varieties. Very very fresh. Sushi is very good and fresh. Nice variety including sashimi options. Good listing of rolls. Seafood dinners looked good with a large variety also fresh. They use a wood-fired oven. We've eaten there several times all great. Service is excellent and friendly. Average noise level.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    150
    55
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Mostly on the positive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We popped in for a couple of lunches. On the first one my wife had the soft crab sushi and I had the burger. Both the sushi and the burger were exceptional coupled together with a great selection of beers. The second time we came for happy hour and we tried oysters and the pick and peel shrimp. Not impressed with oysters but the shrimp were great. The waitresses seemed a bit bored or distracted which let down the atmosphere a bit though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jezz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Contemplating moving to Maine just for their Oyster Stew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Ummm, wow the oyster stew is the best I have had. (Sorry Grammie). My Wife liked the chowder and the beer was cold. What else do you need?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mwboyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nightly hotspot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Been here several times over past few years, always good music to be heard. Staff is friendly, drinks are good and cold, always find a friend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Level Contributor
218 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Disappointed at the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was debating between a 2 and 3, but because of the condescending attitude of our waiter, the 2 won out. Overall the food is pretty good, and the views are great if you get one of the few outdoor tables. However, the waiter's attitude was condescending from the time we walked in, with several sarcastic comments along the way. We almost walked out, and most definitely will not be back. The waitress who was serving tables near us seemed to be very pleasant, so this may have just been a case of luck of the draw (bad in our case).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain8180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mine Oyster also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mine Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing