We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not So Nice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not So Nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

Our room was on the top floor at the end of the building housing the restaurant and lounge. The room and bath were so small we were uncomfortable. Claustrophobic bathroom. Noisy AC unit made sleeping a problem. Beautiful view, but it is Boothbay and every place has that. But not all rooms were like ours. Lounge is boisterous and lite-harted. Main part of town is close by (500 yds.).

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank CVC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    152
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
226
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2006

Stayed here last Oct (2005) spur of the moment trip plan change took us back to Tugboat - great place - make sure you get room on the bay - ask for 201 or 202.

Easily walkable town area - go to lobster place (kasler's) sp? But if you want something you will talk about for a long time, go to Tugboat restaurant and order Seafood Pie. To die for!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing negative
  • Tips/Secrets — Save up appetite for lobster - $20-$30 for whole lobster dinner
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

I can't speak for the Inn itself, but the restaurant was a major disappointment. Not only was it the worst meal we had in Maine, it kept me up all night, feeling sick to my stomach. Please do yourself a favor and stay clear around dinner time.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank crox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

Best thing about the Tugboat Inn is the location - right in the downtown of Boothbay Harbor, with great views of the harbor. The Hotel itself is decent - certainly not fancy, but looks like they try to stay on top of the place and slowly update it. Continental breakfast was medicore - better to skip it. If location and views are your main criteria, then it is a good pick. If you are looking for upscale or something above average, then better look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Medicore decor.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

Recently stayed at the Tugobat Inn while traveling through Maine. Booked two rooms in the main part of the property and our rooms were located on the third floor. The rooms were clean and comfortable - and appeared to be a recently renovated. The best part of staying at the Tugboat Inn was the view of Boothbay Harbor. Our rooms directly overlooked the harbor - which provided a picture-perfect snapshot of Maine! We loved sitting out on the deck - watching the fishing boats come and go throughout the day. The room rate includes continental breakfast which was plentiful with bagels, muffins, scones and juice. The Inn is located in the heart of Boothbay Harbor and within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. I would recommend a stay at the Tugboat Inn and I would return should my travels take me through that part of Maine in the future.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

I recently stayed at the Tugboat Inn as a stop in my travels through New England. It was the most reasonable place I stayed. They offer a AAA discount, I had a lovely room with a queen size bed on a deck overlooking the harbor. It's nothing fancy, but very clean and cozy and the shower was just the right mix of pressure after a day of sightseeing and shopping.

The location is perfect, and I had at least one sunny day to go on a sightseeing boat. The restaurant was excellent for dinner. The continental breakfast isn't much to speak of, it would be nice to have some fresh fruit other than just some older looking apples but there was enough to get you going in the morning.

Since I went in early June, the rates were very reasonable and I had a great stay despite the weather not being cooperative. The employees were all very helpful and it's definitely a safe and friendly place if you are traveling along. The best tip I got came from the housekeeper who told me to take a ride out to Ocean Point. What a beautiful ride, the scenery and lupines that dot the road were wonderful.

I can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank MsBonVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitinsville, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

We stayed at the Tugboat Inn for 5 days. The weather was great - the staff was wonderful, food was good. We had a room in the main building which was large and comfortable and within easy access to all locations in town.
We have been staying at the Tugboat in for the last 10 years and have visited in the spring, summer and the fall. We have always had a great time at this facility with no complaints.
The view is fantastic - sitting on the porch and watching the boats or looking across the harbor at the beautiful church are peaceful and relaxing.
My husband and I would consider returning again and again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sancla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing