We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New Britain, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while vacationing in Maine. Our room was in the main building- it was so cool to walk in and see the harbor view! We loved the porch where we would sit at night and watch boats pull in and out of the harbor. The room was big and included a fridge. Everything was clean and comfortable. Just a note- breakfast is included, but it is in a "sister" hotel about a block or two down the street- not a big deal but if you have kids or in the rain, it may not be a fun walk. The staff was very helpful in giving advice as to what attractions to see. Good parking and close to town- we parked and walked everywere which is nice. It's such a cute town- a mix of Cape May, NJ and Annapolis, MD. If we came back, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen53a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    164
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
100
241
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2014

we recently stayed at the Tugboat Inn. My husband and I wanted this to be a special event in our week along the Maine coast. From the time we arrived, we were treated with exceptional customer service and kindness. Having more than 35 years in customer service, i know when the staff provides sincere service and goes above the line to ensure you have a memorable stay. With the serene view from our balcony, it was all we hoped to have. Only comment is the ease of getting luggage to the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Room was neat and clean with a nice TV but otherwise plain. Bed was too firm for our liking. Room 121 was directly above lounge which was a loud distraction on two of our three nights. We had a nice casual meal on the deck outside the lounge (we enjoyed our burgers). Two meals in the restaurant were very good. Lobster dinner for 13.99 was a pleasant surprise. If you to visit beautiful gardens don't miss the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. However, get DETAILED directions because if you go the long way (and miss the turn) it could end up taking you an hour to drive to it when it should have taken abut 10 minutes. Oh well, we ended up seeing areas we otherwise wouldn't have seen. We also visited Pemiquid Point Lighthouse which is down the peninsula from Damriscota which also takes about and hour but it is quite beautiful if you like rocky coast scenes. Another drive worth doing, and a fairly short one at that, is to go back up 27 to 96 east to East Boothbay and continue until you literally run into the water. Park and take the very short Ocean Point Walk to awesome views (make sure it isn't foggy or you won't get the full effect - guilty!). One other note on Boothbay Harbor itself: it is very hilly. If you have problems walking up and down hills opt for one of the harbor side accommodations which will lessen the agony but not totally eliminate it. Also, if you stay a distance away and need to drive to the town, free parking is very hard to find and you will have to pay to park. Staying at the Tugboat Inn kept us close to most everything in town. There was still some hill hiking so if you must totally avoid hills you might try one of the other harbor side inns. One more thing, the Tugboat Inn does give AAA discount but the online reservation form didn't provide a field for the info so we were charged the full rack rate. I did ask to have my rate changed on arrival and was given it after insisting.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 121 (and perhaps ones near it including on the other side of the building because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butchduga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked one of the Wharf Pier rooms on the 2nd floor with 2 queen beds and were happy with this for a 1 night stay. The room was clean, had a small fridge and the aircon was working fine , the room was quite at night and we enjoyed the lovely view from our balcony. Breakfast at the Fishermans Wharf was adequate although there was a lengthy wait for some breakfast items and staffing levels seemed very inadequate which resulted in many guests complaining to the already overworked staff.
Free Parking was a bonus and everything in Boothbay Harbour is easily accessible on foot. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. They even let us use their telephone for free to sort out some hotel query for Boston as our mobile phones don't work in the US. So all in all we were happy customers and felt our stay was as expected for the money paid.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor with a view of the Harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for one night after three nights at the nearby Topside Inn (we decided to stay another night in Boothbay Harbor and there was no room at Topside). Tugboat suffers by comparison, especially since it was more pricey. Still there's much good to be said about the Tugboat Inn, a complex of buildings that has been added to over the years. First, location is great -- in town and on the water. Our third floor harborview room had a great vista over the harbor, and also had a small balcony. There's free parking at the complex, a real benefit in Boothbay Harbor. Otherwise, the room was adequate -- clean and roomy, although we were in the newest building and guests should be aware that there is a variety of accommodations at the Inn. There's also plenty going on around the motel and things can get noisy with the windows open. Make sure you ask the front desk to turn on the power for the air conditioner, as we had to play around with it for several minutes before giving up in frustration and calling the front desk. They apparently control the a/c power supply remotely and had to turn on the power. An energy saving policy, perhaps, but they should have told us about it. Tugboat also offers free breakfast, but it is available several blocks away at a sister hotel and it is pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location was absolutely perfect,being able to walk to everything.Our room had a beautiful view of the harbor.It was also incredibly quiet.Room 321 has two bedrooms and a bath with a descent size balcony.Wifi worked without a problem,as did the air conditioner.Plenty of hot water too.Convenient parking.The only problem was that we were not able to split the bill on four separate credit cards.This was a girls trip of four,so one of us had to pay the bill in full.Not a big issue really,we only wish we had known this before our arrival.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECAC322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emsmom20
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family stayed at the Tugboat Inn in July, 2014, and we had a great stay. The Tugboat Inn is right on the water. The room was very clean and we had our own private balcony looking out at the Harbor. What a view! Many times I would take a book out onto the balcony but would never even open it when I was out there; I loved watching the boats. I was pleasantly surprised with how quiet the Inn was. The front desk staff were very friendly. We liked being able to leave our car in the parking lot and walk around town because it's so near to restaurants and shopping. The Tugboat Inn has its own restaurant and we enjoyed dinner there twice during our stay. We will definitely be staying at the Tugboat Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emsmom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing