We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Views In Boothbay Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York State
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Views In Boothbay Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

There is no place in Boothbay Harbor with better views. Recommend if you choose the Tugboat Inn that you select a room on the Wharf. We always take the top, end unit, and the views from the room and from the balcony are breath-taking. Since everything is within walking distance, you can park your car and walk every where. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was good. Also, the check in and check out was effortless. The front desk people are friendly and efficient. Can't recommend this place enough!!!!!!

Room Tip: Select a room on the second floor of the Wharf for the best views and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatorpapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    152
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
226
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

On the water within walking distance to down town. On site easy parking. Very enjoyable. The cost of the room in the summer season was expected and if you want a getaway it's well worth it. We consider this trip a tank away seeing we are from New Hampshire. Also the food was great at the tugboat plus plenty of choices down town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewHampshireSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Beautiful setting with beautiful views from the pier rooms where we stayed, although the views are great wherever you stay. Been coming here since 1979 (when it was the Clipper Inn). Always friendly staff and rooms were always clean and comfortable. A place where you can leave your car in the parking lot all week if you wish as everything is in walking distance. Will always be returning as it is a special place for us.. Oh and must mention to not miss the entertainment in the bar lounge on the weekends. we always enjoy Danny Beal-a fantastic singer and musician.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I needed some R&R away from Vermont - something different - and what better place than the seacoast of Maine. We packed up her car and headed out on one of our "roadies". When we left Woodstock/Quechee, we had no destination in mind, other than someplace in Maine. Our first night was spent in Bath - a lovely town. We dined at the Solo Bistro (excellent) and, for our next stop, our waitress recommended The Tugboat Inn in Boothbay Harbor. We splurged for a harbor-view room with a private balcony. Good call on our part. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed our evening cocktails and morning coffee sitting on the balcony, people and yacht-watching. I own a bed and breakfast here in Quechee, VT and provide outstanding service to all my guests. When I travel, I expect the same. The staff at the Tugboat Inn was welcoming, pleasant and up-beat. Our room was very nice but for us, the best part was the view from the balcony. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Opt for a harbor-view room with its own private balcony - splurge if you have to - but it's wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen,, CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Tugboat many, many, many times... It is still and will always be a personal favorite. The location doesn't get any better - still the finest view you'll find. The staff is always accommodating. Steamers and beverages on the deck overlooking the water, watching the boats in and out of the harbor always brings me to a better place in heart, mind, body and spirit.

Room Tip: Always love staying on the Tubgoat Pier - nothing like having a room directly on the pier and waking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knewton59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My niece held her wedding here........what a fun time! The entire staff was so accomodating and just made the event so special for her and her husband! I can't thank them enough!!!!!!! The setting is just perfect........dockside dining with a beautiful view of the harbor! It doesn't get much better than that! THANKS TUGBOAT INN!!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were unhappy with another hotel and checked out early. I almost did not go into the Tugboat Inn because I assumed it was going to be motel quality. I asked to see a room first and got to see a 2 room unit overlooking the water. It was very nice and clean plus both rooms opened out to the deck. Since it was not occupied the night before, we got to check in at noon which was much appreciated. Breakfast included fresh fruit salad too which was unexpected. The bed was so comfortable! There was also a laundry room near the parking lot which was needed for my family of 5!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing