We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, not much else!”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked an extra long weekend in Boothbay Harbor to relax and recharge, and enjoy the harbor view. Our room has the view, but not much else!

Website: this room is small. ROOM IS TINY! Literally only about 30" around three sides of a queen bed.

One night stand, other nightstand is a dorm refrigerator, with a coffeemaker on top. Above that is a open rod that is only place to hang clothes (no closet), which hang down on top of the coffeemaker. This would be a problem, except that coffeemaker doesn't work, anyway!

Room is clean, but wallpaper border is torn, drapes are sagging, no bed skirt on the box springs (and no bedspread covering it, either).

Bathroom is tiny. Literally, only about an 18" by 24" piece of clear floor to stand on. DH has to open the sliding bathroom door to be able to fit up to the vanity to shave. Bathroom is clean, and seems to have been recently renovated.

Website: iron and board in every room. But not this one -- because there is no closet to put it in!

Website: free wi-fi. At the check-in desk: "possibly not available in all rooms". How about, really not available at all! Either no signal, or if you finally manage to get on, signal immediately drops to minimal strength, and then you get booted off again.

Really, this is unacceptable in 2013. It's not like the technology is particularly complex or expensive. Hotel knows they don't have a meaningful attempt at wi-fi, and they don't care.

Can't much get 4g service, either. Which the hotel could fix with a repeater, as well, if they cared.

Continental breakfast is as reported in multiple other reviews here -- cursory. Coffee is really good, but served only in small, foam or paper cups!

Overall, I feel like I paid a ton of money (over $200 a night) and really got not much for it, except a view.

I travel a lot, and usually can find something to like about where ever I stay, but not the Tugboat Inn!

Never again at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penelopeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the feedback regarding your room. There is no question that you had a very small room, in fact it is the smallest room in the hotel. All of the rooms that are at the very end of the pier are a bit smaller than normal, and we always promote them as “small rooms, big view!” We are sorry that you were not comfortable in that location, and as we do have many other rooms in the hotel that are larger, we of course would have changed your room if you had requested. We have many different types of rooms in many different locations, so please know that this room is definitely a unique, one of a kind guestroom. That being said, we are looking at possible ways to re-arrange the room or to change out some of the furniture to try and make it more comfortable. It can certainly be a challenge sometimes to outfit the smaller rooms with the same amenities we offer in the standard size guestrooms, as we want every room to be equipped the same way.

Regarding our wi-fi, we acknowledge that we are having some issues getting the service to every single guestroom, and we are currently working on ways to solve this problem. We have 5 separate buildings and the property is very spread out, so we are working to expand and improve the service that we do have. We do care very much about providing a quality service and we are doing everything we can to make that happen.

We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We hope you may consider giving us another try at some point as I'm sure we can provide a better experience. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope that overall you enjoyed your time in Boothbay Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Tug Boat with my elderly parents (80's). The staff really went out of their way to accommodate us. We arrive without a reservation (because the hotel we had planned to stay at had too many stairs) and Kurt went out of his way to help us get rooms that were accessible on ground level.

The rooms were very clean - modern and updated. They overlooked the harbor. The location is great because you can walk to all the shops in Booth Bay Harbor. Even my parents walked the short distance to the restaurants and shops. It was a great place to stay. We definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Showed up holiday weekend,,needed 3 rooms, and amazingly they had them! Great rooms w great, NO amazing views!!! Clean! No Odors. The front desk was so very helpful I believe her name was Cesseta? Please give this woman a raise !!! No matter,,was a great wonderful fine, and great price!!!! Safe beautiful place to rest you head.

Room Tip: Get there. Will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lswan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I stayed with you and we love it! We brought along two other couples who have never been to Boothbay Harbor. One couple is from California and they flew out to cruise with us up the coast in our old '30's black cars. They have been wanting to stay on the coast of Maine for some time and they love the Tugboat at Boothbay Harbor. The rooms were clean and the view of the harbor with all the sailboats is wonderful. We also had lunch in the Tugboat restaurant which was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Had a great time at the Tugboat Inn. The hotel building we stayed at was dog friendly. The room was clean, and had an awesome view of the harbor. Windjammer Day was great despite the poor weather. The parade went on during a rain storm and they marched and stopped by the restaurant as we dinned. Good service and the lobster bisque soup was to die for. WiFi needs to be updated. No service in room. I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcmjcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tugboat Inn in a "Small room, Great View" room. The room was okay, and we knew what we were getting. We spent four nights there for Windjammer Days. The Tugboat Inn's location, and our rooms in particular were perfect for that event. The room was clean, and the complimentary continental breakfast was adequate. What was NOT so good, was the dinner we had at the Tugboat restaurant. Service was very lacking, and poorly timed. We ordered, and never saw the waitress again until almost EVERYTHING came at once. The soup came with one dinner, which was missing the potato. The salad for the other dinner was forgotten, and arrived when dinner was almost finished. That dinner was baked shrimp, which were overcooked and arrived cold. I suggest staying at the Tugboat Inn, but eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the wing have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnP13147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Been going to Tugboat for over 5 years and enjoyed it every time. New owners have spruced up the rooms and amenities but the staff retains their small hotel personality. I stay in the main building in the center of the complex and have a patio with a great view. Already put a deposit on next year's stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
384 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $128 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing