We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome stay”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked one of the end rooms onthe Tugboat Pier, 105, it had an awesome view and breeze. It is small but we didn't care it was just for sleeping usually gone exploring town. The best part is the boat channel is about 30 feet from the windows and we enjoyed passing greetings with the boaters, while sitting around. (note if your wondering...this is not a nighttime problem, boats stop after sundown). We decided to stay a second nite and due to our waiting to long...ended up moving to the other corner room 107 which is a little bigger and just as much of a view. Staff was awesome, as well as facilities, easy walking distance to town. Wifes only complaint was little limmited on continental breakfast fruit.

Room Tip: Take the Tugboat Pier end corners if you love the water and boats, seagulls, seals, geese and ducks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelStG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 474 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Tugboat inn is a great place to stay. It is central to shops and bot trips. You can just park your car and not need to use it the whole stay. Breakfast here was very good. The view was great and the room very clean! The main office people were so pleasant and helpful! We walked to the shops nd many restaurants and boat excursions. We will definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathyruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Tugboat Inn is in the heart of town in all the best ways. It is within walking distance to boat trips and shops, but away from the traffic of the main street. Our room was over the water with a shared balcony and classic views of the outer harbor. The interior was clean and comfortable with and a new flat-screen TV and bathroom vanity. We had no trouble with Verizon cell reception, though the Wi-Fi was spotty. The staff was friendly and genuine. Boothbay Harbor is a great Maine coastal town, fun but not fancy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed for one night before the season kicked in. We had a room with 2 beds. One of the beds had it's own bedroom. The bedroom had it's own door to the private balcony. The bathroom was nice as well. The staff was friendly too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a couple of pre-season nights at the Tugboat and found it a very pleasant choice in Boothbay Harbor. The location is convenient, just a few steps to the downtown shopping and restaurants. The views of the harbor are great. And the restaurant turned out to be much better that we'd expected. Best of all, the open about a month before most of the other hotels in town! Ok, that was best for us. But we'd stay here on a return visit during the season too.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early May before things were up and running for the season. I can't comment on the normal noise level because there were so few people staying in the Inn and in town so it was very quiet for us. We had a room on the top level of the main building. It's what you would expect from a motel that isn't a national chain. The furnishings and decor are dated (please Tugboat, get rid of the bedspreads - they're disgusting); the mattress could use replacing and the wallpaper boarders and window treatments are dated (and unnecessary) but our room did have a mini fridge, large flat-screen TV, a small closet with ironing board, and two dressers. The bathroom has what is a new (or very recent) countertop and sink and toilet (and perhaps tub). There's plenty of room on the countertop for toiletries and there were ample towels and toiletries. We had a door to a small balcony with two chairs that faced the harbor. It was too cold to sit out when we were there but it would be nice in the Summer. The wireless service was terrible - it kept dieing on us so I wouldn't count on having wireless access. We also had no cell phone reception here or in much of town. The lady at the front desk who checked us in was friendly and the housekeeper did a good job. Those were the only employees we encountered. We were able to park right at the front of the motel but I wonder what parking is like in the Summer. If you need a place to stay on the water in Boothbay and prefer a traditional motel over a B&B, this is a good choice. It's also within walking distance of everything in town.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

the tugboat is a real nice inn .. like the changes they did with the new way of making up the beds
to the new counter and sinks in the bathroom ..and the rooms are always clean and neat..
also like the refrigerator in room ... most of all I love the friendly office staff and the friendly
staff on room service they are all great .this is my place to get away and rest with town walking
distance away can forget the car to walk to every thing ... thank you tugboat inn

Room Tip: like the main inn large rooms and view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNw46054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $149 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing