We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, but not a beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, but not a beautiful room”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived and were greeted very quickly and the hostess was very attentive. Our room was ready on-time and things were off to a great start. The room itself was dated with older decor and bedding. The bathroom was just OK. There was not much room. The balcony was nice when the sun was not beating on it. It was really only good for the morning and late evenings. The mid to late day sun is so strong it is impossible to sit comfortably. The plastic balcony chairs were also very uncomfortable. It would have been great to have some type of reclining chair and/or a table available.
The bed and pillows were terrible.
The Continental Breakfast was basic with breads, fruit and cereal. The coffee was great. The hostess was wonderful.
The restaurant was OK. Service was very slow and the food was just OK.
Overall the location is great - it's right next to the footbridge - but the room was not that nice. The property next door (Rocktide) seemed much nicer; it had a pool, outdoor lounge, more parking, etc.

Room Tip: Skip this place and get a rooom at the Tug Boat (their sister property) or the Rocktide Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_n_SueNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    129
    54
    10
    8
See reviews for
80
141
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the best location in Boothbay Harbor. Shared balcony looking across the water at the beautiful little town. Great sunset. Small green area for playing or dogs. Steps from the bridge to walk across. Would stay there again and again. Great restaurant...really nice people. Rooms could use a little updating..a bit run down. Still...loved it.

Room Tip: Second floor...any water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here Saturday night and it was a pleasant stay. Friendly staff and they were nice enough to move our reservation a night when a conflict on our end came up. Very clean room, but dated in decor. Very old box style TV with a blurry picture. We found the bed comfortable, location great, view was nice. Wifi would have been a bonus, we had nothing in our room (228). We didn't eat at the hotel but they did have complimentary coffee and a Keurig in our room which was great. Overall it was a great stay but this is the only hotel I have stayed in around Boothbay so I don't have much to compare it to. I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We celebrated our 40th anniversary a little early so we could take advantage of the nice summer weather. (We got married in late fall.) Our first time in Boothbay will not be our last. The Boothbay Harbor Inn was the perfect spot and we were treated like true guests from the minute we walked through the front door. We were greeted at the desk by the friendly staff member who told us all about the Inn and the fantastic Lobster Bake in the restaurant that evening.

Our room overlooked the foot bridge and was perfect for our long weekend visit. It was a quaint New England style ocean front hotel room and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, had a small fridge and the TV worked great. We certainly appreciated the air conditioning as it was quite warm that weekend.

Everything was within walking distance and the car never moved from the moment we checked in until the time we departed the area. Be sure to bring your walking shoes. We took advantage of the complimentary harbor tour and got a chance to see all the island homes in the harbor.

We recommend this Inn for anyone that is looking for a great place to stay where you are treated well, rooms are clean and want to be close to everything Boothbay has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the footbridge provide a great view of the activity as well as the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilot973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caibou, Maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Annual Trip to Boothbay and Cabbage Island. Always stay here, rooms are clean, comfortable upgraded with HUGE flat screen TV and you can not beat the view. Great end room overlooing the Harbor. Only downside no elevator, so with a broken foot it was hard to get to the room, but took the view over the inconvenience. Look forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBSHOSPITALITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were cozy, but the view was amazing!! Sitting outside in the morning drinking my coffee and looking at the harbour was very relaxing. Once you get to the hotel, park your car and you are in walking distance to shopping and eating. My family and I enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uofmrocks10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe waterfront that was average, except for the view! This hotel could use an overhaul. Beds not very comfortable, the decor was from the 80's, the wifi didn't come close to our room and like another reviewer said, the undersheet did not stay on bed. Continental Breakfast has no selection and if the items weren't already taken, they aren't very good. Waffles, eggs, fresh fruit, etc... would have been welcome.

When we checked in, the sliding glass door was unlocked and the room was very stuffy because the a/c had been completely turned off. One day the maid service left the door to our room ajar! We wish this would have been a better experience and will have to weigh all the options before we return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Great views from 1st or 2nd floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightJetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boothbay Harbor Inn

Property: Boothbay Harbor Inn
Address: 31 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boothbay Harbor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boothbay Harbor Inn, Boothbay Harbor, MaineWelcome to your waterfront destination, the Boothbay Harbor Inn! We offer sixty deluxe guestrooms, with modern amenities and views of the working waterfront. Most have a balcony or patio (some private) and sunsets are our specialty! We are located at the water’s edge, next to the famous wooden footbridge, which provides easy access to the town of Boothbay Harbor. Just a short walk will take you to a wide variety of shops, galleries,restaurants and boating activities.Our waterfront restaurant, Windows on the Harbor, offers breathtaking water views, spectacular sunsets and nightly entertainment on the baby grand. We feature fresh Maine seafood including Maine lobster, as well as other New England specialties. We offer a full bar, a complete beer and wine list, a well rounded assortment of desserts, and a junior menu. Dinner is served nightly, and reservations are welcome.Our main dining room, as well as our outside tent area, are available for receptions, rehearsal dinners, parties and other gatherings. The restaurant boasts panoramic windows directly facing the harbor, and our front lawn is right at the water’s edge. Our special banquet menus offer a wide variety of options to fit every taste and pocketbook. Special accommodation rates are available for weddings and other large groups, and for individuals we also offer special all-inclusive vacation packages featuring accommodations, meals and activities. We are open mid May to mid October, and are available year round for reservations and information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boothbay Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boothbay Harbor Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Boothbay Harbor Motel
Boothbay Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing