We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We had booked 3 nights here and extended our stay an extra night-we would have stayed longer if they hadn't been fully booked for the weekend. Yes the bathroom is tiny, and yes it has a bit of a motel feel to it, but we just loved the view from our room, and location is so important. The restaurant is also excellent, although it is a pity breakfast is not included in the price. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather the whole time, so enjoyed the delights of Boothbay at its best.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelscott054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    125
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
110
287
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We hadn't booked but we got a room with a view of the side cove which was fine. We would have liked a forward facing waterfront room, but who wouldn't? Nothing wrong with the room but nothing outstanding either in a town where rooms are at a premium and all much of a muchness. Browns does have a full service restaurant but we preferred to go into town for dinner even though the hotel is on the "wrong" side of the harbour. It only takes 15 minutes of easy and very scenic walking via the harbour footbridge and you are in the middle of Boothbay. Please note that breakfast is not included and the restaurant gets very crowded because there really isn't anywhere else on this side of the harbour.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeswickTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed with my husband at the Inn last weekend for a few days. What a beautiful place We loved our room overlooking the boats and the water. On your private deck it feels like you're on the water too. Got to watch the fishermen pull in their lobster traps. Shops and restaurants very close. Must say the restaurant at the Inn was fabulous. Never a long wait and the food and waitresses were excellent. Thought the soft shell lobsters were great and my husband loved the blueberry desserts. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Everyone seems to go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Great job Brown's Wharf Inn!!! Will stay again when we return to your area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOTHEROFTHREE_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I hate to post a negative review because the staff was great. Very, very friendly. But the Inn (motel) is just that, a motel. We stayed in a King coveside room for about $150. We walked into a VERY VERY dated room. Old bed with a pre-positioned headboard and two old, small nightstands. One little table and some plastic furniture to place on your porch.

THE GOOD:
-great view of harbor. I'll give them that. You have a personal porch where you can sit and gaze out on the water.

THE BAD:
-room was terrible.
-bathroom average.
-older TV
-location is not really walking distance to the harbor area where shops and restaurants are.

At the end of the day this place is rated #1 on trip advisor and I seriously question the people who are posting the reviews. I've traveled A LOT and stayed at plenty of 4 and 5 star hotels and this place falls WAY short. My fiancee and I were in town scoping out places where our guests can stay when we get married and we found at least 5 B&B's that were MUCH nicer, more modern and up to date for about the same price.

All in all, great service, really nice view, but WAY overrated on trip advisor, not a place I would consider a "nice" or "upscale" hotel or Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fjsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We love going to Boothbay Harbor in August and staying at Brown's Wharf Inn. It's a wonderful hotel overlooking the harbor full of lobster boats, beautiful sailboats, and fabulous yachts. Each room has a magnificent flower box which is tended daily and is quite showy in the perfect August weather. Just a nice walk from the hotel is a footbridge which takes you into the town where you can explore neat shops or get a boat to see whales, fish for strippers, sail at sunset, or take other cruises. Everyday we eat the best lobster which is caught that day and finish the meal with fresh blueberry or raspberry pie. YUM!! We've been going to Brown's Wharf Inn for the last twenty-three years and love getting away from the heat in New Orleans to enjoy the perfect weather in August. The rooms all have beautiful views and the restaurant has great food and very special breakfasts. The rooms are $179. a night and very comfortable and clean. We highly recommend going to Boothbay Harbor and staying at Brown's Wharf Inn especially in the month of August.

Helpful?
2 Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2009

What a pleasant stay! Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfortable....the bathroom was huge! It was so convenient to have such a nice restaurant on site. We enjoyed both dinner and breakfast there. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmony47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The view from the balcony is worth the price you pay but you also get a clean comfortable room (think Holiday Inn with a real small bathroom). Boothbay Harbor is a working harbor and at Brown's you are on top of it and the sunsets are fantastic. We ate breakfast and it was very good (even have grits on the menu). This was our second trip and we hope to go back many more times just like the couple in the next room who were there for the tenth time .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#10 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Property: Brown's Wharf Inn
Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing