We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful view of the harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of the harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wanted a hotel near the Coastal Maine Gardens and this was a great find. It is not fancy but very clean and comfortable. It is right on the harbor so that you can watch the lights come on in the ships and then see the ships come in and out. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: The third floor has a great view and the balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkostrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    121
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
279
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, RI, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were so looking forward to a restful short vacation so we picked Maine. Great State but Browns Inn was not the best place to be. The staff was friendly but our water view room ended up to be a great view of the road, rocks and seaweed. We were in the side building 2nd floor, yes if you sat on the balcony you could see the water but any other place the trees and road is what you saw. The sheets on the bed did not fit and in the morning they were off the bed. I left a note each day and the same thing happened each night. The room was clean but every night we could hear the headboard in the room next door hit the wall.

Room Tip: Make sure you are guaranteed a room in the front building or go some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We LOVE Brown's Wharf Inn and have been staying here since I was a kid. It's nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable and very basic, but OH those views from the porch! Nothing compares....perfect spot for relaxing!

Room Tip: Book a first floor Waterfront room for the absolute BEST VIEWS!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveAllThingsDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a last minute choice. We ended up here because we were exploring Maine. We got tickets to go whale watching a decided to stay a couple of nights. We are totally in love with this town. Based on trip advisor and price we chose this hotel. The rooms are clean, roomy, great view, comfy, and totally worth the price. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. The restaurant on site is excellent too. In all, I would recommend this place to friends and I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Brown's Wharf Inn in August. What a treat. Rooms were great. Clean and roomy. Bathroom a little small, but who stays in the bathroom. Staff was very pleasant and friendly and always ready to help. The servers in the restaurant were excellent, food was good and not over priced. The balcony view is great, always something to look at. We are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaeDelran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent facilities. Food was absolutely great. We enjoyed the balcony on our room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
The view from our balcony overlooking the harbor was spectacular.
The whole experience was restful. This place made up our minds to return here (we live in the desert, east of Palm Springs).

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilder M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
231 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. We stayed at a harbor front room which was clean and had a great view of the harbor. The room had a balcony but the balconies are separated by a railing. We like to keep our curtains open at night to view the scenery but the neighbor rooms can see into the room from their balcony. The room was not that quiet since sound could be heard from adjoining  rooms and from people walking along the outside walkway. The motel was a short walk from the main part of Booth Bay Harbor by walking across the 100 year old foot bridge over the harbor. 

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Property: Brown's Wharf Inn
Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing