We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Deering, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE - This motel and restaurant have the most friendly, most gracious, most accommodating staff that you will ever experience, anywhere!
The motel’s exquisite ambiance, atmosphere, and views are alone worth the trip. My wife and I have enjoyed our summers at Brown’s Wharf for almost twenty years. We enjoy just setting on our own private little balcony overlooking the harbor watching the movements of all of the working and pleasure boats. There is always something happening in the harbor. This atmosphere is very restful, relaxing, and decompressing.
The restaurant is an experience, from its nautical theme to the many conversations we have had with the young students hired as wait staff for the summer coming from all over the world, to the first rate food it serves on a daily basis. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to meet your needs. It is always interesting to see people coming from other, nearby motels to Brown’s Wharf for supper; that alone tells you something. And also to get your reservation in early! Starting your day off with a hearty breakfast with many specials is a great way to begin your experience exploring Boothbay Harbor and later in the day your supper with many fresh seafood choices, abundant wine and beverage choices, and don’t let me forget one of the many specials Thanksgiving Turkey Dinner is a great way to end a great day in the area. Go and Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    125
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
110
287
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

After deciding to stay for 5 nights in Boothbay Harbor, ME, I needed to choose a hotel. I selected Browns Wharf Inn, because I wanted a place on the East side, facing the harbor over to the downtown area. I couldn't be happier. I absolutely loved Browns Wharf Inn. The hotel was top notch, not only the facilities, but the staff as well. My room was a "waterfront", facing the harbor room, and had a great size, private, balcony facing the boats and harbor. It was breathtaking. The room was a good size, with refrigerator, desk, king size bed, comfortable furniture, and all the amenities one would need. I was particularly happy with the staff, how friendly they were, even the chambermaid, who got me extra coffee and ensured that I had everything I needed. The restaurant at Browns Wharf is rated as one of the best in the area, and I enjoyed it for dinner and breakfast. I didn't eat there all the time, but the times I did, it was great, and good food quantities. Believe me, as someone that did not know the area of Boothbay Harbor, selecting Browns was one of the best choices I've made. Would I go back? In a heartbeat, and I plan on it next season, and maybe even for a getaway weekend as well. It is conveniently located, to the point where I didn't even use my car all week, I simply walked down the road, across the beautiful footbridge, and was in the downtown area, where everything I wanted to do was there. Please consider Browns, I give it very high marks. The photos I posted on this review are ones that I took last week at Browns Wharf. The one that shows the boats was one of the views from my room, just beautiful. If you want to experience all that Boothbay Harbor, ME has to offer, pick a hotel you'll equally be thrilled with. There's just one issue I had....I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Browns offers a variety of accommodations to suit your needs. I traveled solo, so the king bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanofMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our third time here. Each stay as good as the last. Weather great each time.
This time we had a 3rd floor harbor front room. Beautiful view from the balcony. Easy to doze after a day out.
Staff friendly and helpful. We asked to extend check out 1/2 hour and it wasn't a problem.
Although there is a trolley we always opt for the walk across the foot bridge to the other side of the harbor. Not difficult at all.
This isn't the Four Seasons with bellhops, etc. It's a very nice hotel in a great location looking over a beautiful harbor. I'll take it any day.

Room Tip: The extra $ for the harbor front as opposed to side view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our room, inner harbor view was very clean. We had dinner at the restaurant. The food was very good, however the service was slow. We weren't in a hurry so it was fine. The lady at the front desk with the "southern Maine" accent was extremely pleasant. It was nice to be able to take the trolley in to Town. It was really relaxing to sit on the deck at the Marina. If you are looking for a nice lounge to have a cocktail...this is NOT the place. We were surprised that there wasn't a cocktail menu in such a busy season. The bartender seemed annoyed when we asked if she could make a certain martini for us. Also, it is quite a walk into Town. Not as close to footbridge as we thought. We would go back based on the hospitality and cleanliness which is the most important thing to us when away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view room, if not inner harbor is nice also. Nothing for children to do at Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We drove up from NH for an overnight stay. Every room at Browns has some type of view of the harbor which is beautiful. Some of the rooms front the harbor; we were on the side but still had a view. There are outside balconies but the only thing that separates you from your neighbor is a wooden rail or two. You could be sitting right next to them! We had a king room and although it was small, it was clean. I asked for a pillow top on the bed and it was there upon arrival. Sleeping was fine until anyone in the vicinity decided to shower. I was startled out of a deep sleep at 6am even though I had earplugs in. That's how loud it was. The bathroom is tiny. One part has a tub and toilet that almost touch each other. Outside that room is the sink area. These are both right near the front door. Extremely awkward set up and bare basic facilities. The hotel is in a good spot. Although not right downtown, it's a short drive to everything you want to do. The Boothbay area is gorgeous. We drove to Southport Island and to Ocean Point. Loved the scenery and the drive. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the staff was very friendly and the food was good. All with a nice view. I would recommend this hotel for an overnight but would not recommend it for a long stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that fronts the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The view of the harbor from our room was beautiful. I love having a view when staying at a hotel and this place had a large picture window looking out into the harbor plus a walk-out balcony. It was relaxing to spend time just watching all the boat activity from the balcony at any time of day or night. The room was a good size, bathroom small but adequte. The location is good. It's not in town but the town area is close by and easy to get to. Being away from the downtown area makes this location quieter. There is a nice restaurant on the property, which we used twice with plenty of parking. I would stay here again. We stayed on the second floor, a good height to see lots of boat activity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Brown's Wharf is an excellent location to see the harbor - watch pleasure boats dock as well as lobster boats coming into the nearby lobster pound. The accommodations are nice and clean. Each room has a balcony. A higher room rate gets you a front harbor view; less money is along the side, but still overlooking the water. The hotel is a distance from town but very walkable. A trolley does run from the hotel until 4:30 in the afternoon. The front desk staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Call as early as possible if visiting in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChippiePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#10 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Property: Brown's Wharf Inn
Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing