We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel if you can.......”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you're ever in Boothbay Harbor in Maine, try to stay at this excellent hotel/motel. It's slightly away from downtown which makes it quieter than downtown. Yet, it's still close enough to get there in less than 5 minutes by car. Great clean spacious rooms with ample parking. Staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a restaurant that's open for breakfast and dinner, with outside seating if you prefer that. There's an excellent view of the harbor from each room, and also from the dining room. The servers are very friendly and the food is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just like visiting an old friend. It has the best location to stay in Boothbay. An easy walk to other restaurants and downtown.
You are always well received at the front desk and the dining room. The Brown family are always making improvements to the rooms. Well appointed, quiet and comfortable. Dining is a pleasure with great food and service. Standouts are Kelly and Michelle.
We look forward to our visit to Brown's every year. This was our fifth stay and are never bored.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the cove are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Cannot say enough about the wonderful stay at Browns Wharf - on the "quiet side" of Boothbay. Our sixth year there, we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Beautiful waterfront rooms, you can relax and watch the bots go by, enjoy the ever changin weather - I especially love the days when the ocean fog comes in and cocoons the harbor - you really feel away from the world you left behind. Only things I would suggest, again, is that have a covered area with seating for smokers on the rainy days. They do have designated smoker areas - but all are exposed to the elements with no seating, unless you count a small stone wall around a bedding are. Accomodations are clean, bathrooms on the smaller side and the pillos feel hard. Minor things - but could be taken care. STILL recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is out 5th year returning to Browns. We love the food and atmosphere of the place. The staff is friendly and remembers us every year. They are very helpful and accommodating. The views from all rooms are on the bay. You have a view of Booth Bay HArbor and all its ship and lobster traps. It feels like real Maine. Also in a good location with a trolly access to town or a walking bridge. Be sure to try their soft shell lobster special and their outrageous blubbery crumb. See you next year!

Room Tip: A pool would be really nice. The new elevator is great. Enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jopiscatelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We "discovered" Brown's Wharf Inn 15 years ago and have shared our find with several friends. Seven years ago it became a family destination with our children and grandchildren - ranging in age from 75 down to 4. Every member of the family loves Brown's Wharf and looks forward to the next summer. It is clean. The entire staff is great. And the view is awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been going to Brown's Wharf for years and years and are never disappointed. The staff in Reception to the wait staff in the dining room are wonderful. The view at Brown's can't be beat. The rooms are always clean. Only drawback for some may be the bathroom - it's a little tight but always clean. To walk off breakfast and/or dinner, town is a short, pleasant walk away. We wouldn't go anywhere else.

Room Tip: In July/August it can get very sunny in the afternoon on the front rooms facing the harbor. We trie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Brown's Wharf and I would highly recommend this hotel. It is located across the harbor from the main shops but within easy walking distance across the footbridge. The rooms are big (bathroom is small) and very clean, the hotel itself is well maintained and staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the third floor in a room facing the harbor and I was completely satisfied as we were able to watch the lobster fisherman come in and out of the harbor. There is a laundry facility available which made it very helpful to wash and dry our clothes - I did not feel uncomfortable leaving my laundry going while I went back to the room (they even supply the laundry soap!) Price was $2.00 for washer and $2,00 for dryer but these machines hold large loads. We did not eat here as my husband enjoyed trying the various lobster wharfs in the area. Can't go wrong with this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing