We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main stay in Maine”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Brown's Wharf Inn is located across the harbor from the main tourist town. There were many boats of varying size and shape docked here and yet, very little noise. The decorations and flowers set this family owned and run inn apart from the rest. They also offer a trolley service that takes you into the town, saving you the hassle and parking fees of using your own transportation.

The sunset was superb and great for those memorable pictures to post on facebook! I took a picture of the crescent moon viewed through the lines of a sailboat. And we actually watched a harbor seal one morning while he was doing his breakfast run, as we ate breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a harbor view. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharr0n_F_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 536 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I believe most of the glowing reviews of this hotel are spot on, so instead of rehashing the cleanliness, great service, and superb location / siting of the property, I'll try to offer some different insights garnered from our one night stay with a family of four.

The not-so-obvious good:
Location, actually. Because the motel is not in the main town, you don't get the raucousness of the dense restaurant mix across the harbor. So this is a good place for some peace and quiet. The closest restaurant is Boothbay Lobster Wharf, and they aren't loud and shut down early.

LED lightbulbs. Ok, the A/C is sucking down a lot of juice, but at least they are cooling down just the room, instead of the lighting. CFL flickering upon startup drives me and everyone else berserk, so it is great to see a move to the right technology.

AT&T customers, you get service. The same could not be said for any property on the other side of the harbor, where you are essentially disconnected.

Wifi, fast Wifi. 5Mbps upload / download speeds was enough to watch Netflix and today's Tour de France stage online in HD. Maybe the crowd here doesn't do streaming or email at night?

Water pressure. This has to be among the top 5 of hundreds of hotels I've stayed at in my life.

Customer service. This is obvious, but they are so nice and sweet and INFORMED here that it would be a crime not to mention how great the staff is here. We thought the refrigerator didn't work (it was our fault) and they were very friendly about it. Most chain hotels have something to learn here.

What keeps it from being great:

This is a 1950's motel. Its primary charm is its amazing property siting that enables every room to have a great view of the harbor. It also is saddled with a ridiculously small bathroom (think 90€ hotel near Charles De Gaulle small) in which your bum is bumped while shaving in front of the sink if your friend or family member is exiting the shower room. Someone call a space planning architect, stat.

The bedding is not that comfortable. For the same price, your average <insert generic business traveler value brand hotel chain here> has much more comfortable bedding.

The decor. This is separate from cleanliness, which the motel has in spades. But taking a page or two out of Aloft or Hampton Inn and Suites and upgrade the surfaces and colors would enable a five star rating here.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank newenglandr0cks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A beautiful property with beautiful flowers and excellent harbor views. On the "quiet" side of town with a convenient courtesy shuttle over to the village. Staff at the BWI's restaurant are 5 Star! Would highly recommend this property and would definitely chose BWI when visiting Boothbay Harbor again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sisrak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed one night at Brown's Wharf Inn on our journey down the coast of Maine. The hotel is across the harbor from the main town but a short and picturesque walk across the footbridge gives access to the shops and restaurants. Rooms were nothing fancy but quite large, clean, and comfy. Nice views from the balcony! Bathroom was small but certainly adequate.
We liked this spot and have to commend the friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast was not included but the on-site restaurant fare was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaMay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I rented Capt. Browns Cottage for a week and we were absolutely thrilled! The cottage was clean, quaint and very comfortable. Everyone at the resort was incredibly nice and helpful, they wrote the book on top notch customer service!! We were so impressed with how lovely the whole property was....the flowers all over were just beautiful. It is obvious the Brown Family takes great pride in their property. We can't wait to come back! Thank you, Brown Family for making our vacation so memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

For a mid-week trip to Boothbay Harbor we selected BWI on TripAdvisor's great reviews. They're spot on!!! The Inn is a short ~10 minute walk to the village or there is a courtesy shuttle trolley that makes frequent loops.Would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the area. We also found the shopping above average for a tourist destination, especially Mung Bean that specializes in US made handcrafts.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

All rooms have balconies with a view of Boothbay Harbor. You are not right in the heart of the little town, but it is walkable and just a few minutes drive. The rooms were clean and spacious, although the bathrooms were a bit small. We will definitely stay again. (Previous posts mentioned a noise problem from people walking on the wooden decks. They seemed to have laid outdoor carpet on these, and we had absolutely no noise problem.)

Room Tip: You will have a choice of waterfront or inner harbor. Waterfront directly face the harbor. Inner h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarylandFamily89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing