We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is an unfancy motel-style property with an excellent waterfront view from the balcony. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and furnished in a simple but functional style. In addition to the usual amenities, there was a room safe to store the Ipad and other gadgets when we were out. Yes, the bathroom is small, but entirely adequate. We ate one dinner and one breakfast at the inn and were quite impressed. The food was very good, service excellent, meal prices very reasonable and view of the water spectacular. We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful and we were very pleased with the overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    122
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
281
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our second stay at Brown's and it was just as good as the first time. Great location and view. Clean, spacious room. Very pleasant staff.
Walkable to everywhere via the foot bridge just down the street. We didn't move the car the whole time there.
Super weather put the stay totally over the top. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Go the extra few dollars for harborfront. Try to get upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was our first trip to Maine and what a pleasant surprise to have Found Brown's wharf Inn. It's located right on Boothbay harbor. The room had a great view of the Bay and a little balcony to see the boat traffic of the harbor . The restaurant was excellent specializing in seafood and lobster. When we were there Lobsters were in abundance and very cheap, a lobster Dinner(3 lobsters) was less then $25.00. There was easy access to the harbor shops and all the excursions for whale watching or travel to the nearby Islands and artist colony. The staff was friendly and the only complaint we had was the automatic wake up service was not working for 2 days. Rooms were large, clean and had all the things needed in a hotel room. We highly recommend this facility., it was worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaENTDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. It had great views of the harbor and is only a 1/2 mile away from the foot bridge to walk over to the busy shopping area. There was running either way you turned our of the inn for my morning jog. FYI-To the right was more hilly. The staff were exceptional. The balconies were nice. You basically are sitting on the balcony with your neighbors with only a pipe/rail separating you, so it gives you a morning coffee buddy to socialize with.

Room Tip: Great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We found your wonderful Inn by chance about 10 years ago and have tried to return every summer since. If we are very lucky we also come back in the fall. The staff are all so friendly and
efficient. We really love the restaurant and always have breakfast and dinner there. Our favorite spot is a third floor room on the front of the building. The lobster boats are a delight to see and all of the marina life is great. It is always fun to see which mega Yacht will arrive. We would highly recommend visiting delightful Inn!

Room Tip: Front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you want to stay close to the harbor in Boothbay, I highly recommend Brown's Wharf Inn. We have rented a house in the past but were only in town for three days this trip so a hotel was the option. Carol at the front desk could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Anything you need, she will get for you. I had the pleasure to meet Mr. Brown as well which was an honor.
The rooms are spacious with wall mounted air conditioning units which run very quietly for a good nights sleep. It's a short 15 minute walk to downtown across the footbridge which makes the location perfect to leave your car at the hotel and not worry about parking downtown. The trolley also runs through every 30 minutes or so which gives you that option for transportation.
We will be back to Brown's Wharf and will look forward to it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmccarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love both Boothbay Harbor and especially Browns Wharf. We go up there at least twice a season and have done so for many years. The staff are friendly, the restaurant excellent and the rooms very acceptable, recognizing that rooms in Boothbay are not at the level of a Five Star Hotel. We would highly recommend this location to anyone who wants a harborside experience in a scenic Maine Harbor.

Room Tip: The Cove side rooms tend to be quieter and do not get the hot afternoon sun. They are great for rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Property: Brown's Wharf Inn
Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3 diamond Inn with rooms and restaurant located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, ironers, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 64 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing