We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Harbour Views, Warm & Friendly Atmosphere”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We spent a long weekend at Brown's. The rooms were clean and comfortable (just like home) and the amenities were just what we needed. Coffee maker in the room along with a refridge make a huge difference, yet coffee is also avaialble in the hotel lobby.
The hotel is right on the dock! You can watch the boats and yachets cruise by your room. Local lobstermen can also be viwed in the AM and PM when to return to port. There is a restaurant and bar (1 outside too) that has the atmosphere of true downeast Maine. The theme is clearly nautical with a view of the harbour and many large scale vessels to amaze you. There is even a diving suit in there with one of those old bronze helmets on the top. The food was traditional with offering of seafood and beef alike. If you like prime rib or twin lobsters, get there early to assure availibility. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandCadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

We were very lucky to get a room due to a last minute cancellation. We loved Browns, very clean rooms, comfy beds, nice staff, great deck off rooms to relax and view the harbor. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck by their marina in the nice big rocking chairs and relaxing. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0minmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I have gone to Brown's many times and each time it gets better and better. The staff are efficient and courteous. The food is excellent, the waitstaff are great and the meals are served with amazing speed. I was astounded. The rooms are clean and the view is spectacular. One can easily walk to the shops in town, or head in the other direction and go to Spruce Point to take in the crashing waves. All you need is all right there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkilloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Technically, we stayed here in August of 2011, & I'm slow with the review... If you can, get one of the corner rooms, the view is awesome. Just staring at the harbor from the windows or the deck will relax you! Charming lobster boats are docked next to the hotel, and the flower boxes everywhere are beautiful. We loved it here and had a hard time leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NanSea03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at Brown's for 4 nights in June/July and it is still our favorite place to stay in Maine. We always book a room on the third floor/waterfront ... sitting on the balcony overlooking the harbor is just so peaceful and if lucky we watch lobster boats come in and unload their catch. Often there is a elegant yacht tied up to the dock ... this year a 91/2 million dollar job ... we watched the crew clean, polish and stock and then finally a party of 8 boarded ... oh how the other half lives! It is across the harbor from all the hustle and bustle of Boothbay but just a short ride or shuttle trip to visit the bustling shopping mecca. Spent one day on a whale watch and actually saw several whales. The resturant serves great lobster at reasonable prices and the breakfasts are also good. Staff is friendly and service was great . We will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor ... there is an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol34162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We love the Brown's Wharf Inn. Our family has been staying there for years. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean, and the views are spectacular!! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boothbay Harbor!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lbeaudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We've stayed at Browns Wharf Inn about 4 times and there is none better. Service is excellent and the location is great. You will not be disappointed. It's where we will always go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnyancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $89 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing