We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest B&B”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest B&B”
Reviewed September 21, 2007

A friend and I stayed only one night at the Topside Inn, but it was enough to know that next time I'm in Boothbay, this is where I'll be. The rooms are exceptionally clean; the breakfast was substantial and delicious (great coffee!); the views are magnificent. Not only are Ed and Brian exceptionally helpful and friendly, but the other people staying there were also very nice. The inn is on a hill, but it's an easy walk down to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueBii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    62
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
689
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Perfect location in a stunning harbor village . Rooms are bright and simple with a seaside feel , ours had a panoramic view of the harbor .
The house has great public sitting and breakfast areas ( with views ) and a very comfortable fireside lounge to read the morning papers before you set out for the day. Breakfast was freshly made and relatively healthy ( makes a change)!
On the basis that we probably only visit anywhere once we look for the properties that allow us to savor the whole experience and on that basis Topside scores 100% and represented excellent value for money compared to some of the other places we stayed on the trip to Maine.
The property will have special appeal to those UK visitors who don't appreciate the American fascination with Victorian tat .

  • Liked — Location and Style
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rossbrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

It was only one night but it was so completely enjoyable that I could have happily stayed for a few more. The feel of the Topside was not fussy fancy doily but rather suntans, sandals and breeze in your hair.

Our large room (#6) in the main house had a comfy king bed, a lovely window seat with a beautiful harbor view and a throw for cuddling, wicker chairs, white furniture and a sunny beachy feel. Bathroom was middle of the road - functioned just fine but no wow factor.

Bountiful breakfast was served in an enclosed porch area with terrific view, folks were bird watching from their tables - was it an eagle, hawk or opsrey?? We may never know :)

Blooming flower beds surround the buildings, and the adirondack chairs overlooking the lawn and harbor call out for a few quiet minutes with a book and a cup of coffee.

  • Liked — casual feel
  • Disliked — nothing - it was all good!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCheesehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

One of the most fantastic vacations we've ever had. Topside Inn is a first rate B&B, Brian and Ed are superior innkeepers. They went above and soared beyond our expectations. The Inn is immaculant and the view is outstanding! The rooms were clean and comfortable with great views of the ocean. Oh and then there are the breakfasts and afternoon cookies, yum! Bravo!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chick4adventr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We had an amazing time at the Topside on our four night stay this August. The view is unbeatable.My husband and I would have been happy sitting in the adirondack chairs overlooking the harbor the entire time! Brian and Ed are incredible hosts, personable and excellent cooks. The breakfast was a culinary delight, from lemon-blueberry pancakes to garden veggie frittatta and the homemade granola--don't get me started! To top that off, fresh baked cookies every afternoon. It is the perfect location, with a view and many great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Topside and plan on returning again in the future.

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jlboys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We live in Maine and took out-of-town friends to Boothbay Harbor for a night in July. The Topside was fabulous!! Ed and Brian are the perfect Inn owners - friendly, knowledgeable about the area, etc. but not overbearing; this is not one of those places where you feel you have to make a lot of chit chat with strangers, unless you want to. The Inn is beautifully decorated - very New England style - simple and clean. The views are breathtaking from almost every bedroom, the breakfast room, and the sweeping lawn. The location couldn't be better - walking distance to all the shops/restaurants but up a hill and not on the main drag, so quiet and of course - the views! Breakfast was great - homemade muffins, granola, eggs to order. We all kept saying how we wish we could've stayed a few weeks instead of one night. We'll definitely be going back!

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — the plastic water cups in the bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We feel that we really lucked out when we found and stayed at the Topside Inn. Talk about location, the view of the harbor and downtown area is beautiful. Our room was huge and very clean, well stocked and convenient to the beautiful grounds. Private parking in a lot adjacent to the Inn (parking is a challenge in Boothbay Harbor). Ed & Brian are wonderful and gracious host, even offering to help with our luggage. And last but certainly not least is the tremendous breakfast. Fresh fruit, muffins, a hot entre' which is delicious and imaginative, and the absolute best fresh yogurt and granola you have ever had. We loved Boothbay Harbor and will surely return and when we do we will stay at the Topside Inn.

  • Liked — Great room and gracious hosts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeogiaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing