We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else can be said that hasn't already been said”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I hope heaven is like this...

Checkout was at 11:00 am - we checked out at 10:57 - we were ready to leave at 10:00 but hung out on the deck admiring the view - which is fabulous.. We left, knowing we would be back.

This is a fabulous spot for couples but also a great spot for a mother-daughter trip. Lots of craft stores to explore and sailing on schooners would be fun - unfortunately the weather did not co-operate so we didn't get to go sailing when we were there which is why we have to return.

We were so relaxed - sitting out on the deck, daughter reading a book, I - sipping on wine, playing online poker - yes free wi-fi.

and Breakfast - oh my - oh my - we stayed two nights - first morning breakfast was banana flambé french toast - you have no idea - it was the most glorious breakfast I have ever had.

Next morning - tiny orange pineapple muffins that melted in your mouth - and a fabulous quiche. Now daughter (fussy) did not like this fancy cuisine - gawd - but she loved the fresh fruit bowls done up all fancy, homemade granola, yogurt and toast. Coffee was soooooooooo good....

Ed is responsible for all this fabulous food and Brian I believe is the details guy. The inn was all booked up for Windjammer days but everyone was well looked after by these 2 fabulous hosts. The place oozes of relaxation, style and cosiness. We met so many fabulous people from all over.

Love, love this place and we will be back....

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita_PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Topside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

932 - 938 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

We arrived on a Friday afternoon to the quaint town of Boothbay Harbor. We were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Top Side Inn. Our room was in one of the outer buildings and was not connected to the main house. The room was a bit small, but clean and well furnished. However, the bathroom was tiny and the water pressure left a bit to be desired.
Brian and Ed were wonderful hosts, and were quick to help us in day trip planning and provide excellent restaurant reviews. The breakfast was different each day, with one hot entrée option each morning (the blueberry pancakes were our favorite). There was a full supply of coffee and tea throughout the day and homemade cookies in the afternoon.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quite relaxing long weekend, but I would suggest asking for a room in the main house, as the bathrooms are bigger.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EaaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

A quaint B&B with a genuine friendly Inn Keepers. No AC to interfere with the Maine experience but great breezes with cool nights make for a pleasant stay. Nice clean clean rooms and a great breakfast. Would not change a thing . . .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-n-Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This Inn is what one dreams about. It ticks all the boxes for those who have an image of an elegant white timber mansion ovelooking the bay with comfortable rooms and perfect ambience. Looked after by two dedicated hosts who proudly make their guests feel at home right down to a very special surprise breakfast prepared by Ed. Brian offers guests all the information required to make ones time in Boothbay Harbor special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

There are many nice places to stay in Boothbay Harbor, but if you like your run of the house, lots of space fitted with comfy furniture, and books galore to choose from, the Topside Inn is the place for you. Ed and Brian are perfect hosts making you welcome from the moment you arrive. Nice touches include the well-decorated inn, fresh flowers from their own gardens, and cookies stashed in the cookie jar in the kitchen. Ed is a master in the kitchen for his breakfast feasts. It's a short walk to the town center. Ed and Brian will give you dining recommendations to suit your taste.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

My wife and I just got back from a 2 night stay at Topside B&B. We had a wonderful room and we determined that there are no bad rooms. Because of the hilltop location there was a great view from any direction. No matter the time of day there was coffee, cookies, teas, etc. available. The breakfast was fresh and expertly prepared. Brian and Ed were wonderful hosts and made us feel comfortable (not always the case at B&B's we have stayed at). A neighbor's kitty even showed up outside our second floor door to give my wife a cat "fix" as she needed one. Our only regret was that we stayed at Topside at the beginning of our vacation rather than the end as all other B&B's paled by comparison. Thanks, Cathy and Dan

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quietman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We were so pleased to have found this inn on Trip Advisor. All the reviews were spot on and we are delighted to add to them. Ed and Brian were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Our room - no. 19 - was truly lovely and had great views over the grounds and sea. The bed was so comfortable that my husband insisted on pulling back the sheets and making a note of the mattress make for future reference!! The breakfasts were splendid and varied and filled us up until the evening. We were given great ideas for eating out, including a lobster restaurant all of which were easy to reach within 10 minutes walk - you should note that there was a farily steep hill from the hotel down into the town. Brian and Ed also recommended trips in the local area. We went on a lovely schooner trip around the islands. We would thoroughly recommend this to any traveller. We would definitely return ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbsWoodfordGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing