We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Attentive and pleasant service, nice spot above but v. close to downtown Boothbay, restaurant quality breakfast, attractive/comfortable furnishings. You really get your money's worth. Brian and Ed make you feel like you are a VIP for your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waldobmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I returned to the Topside Inn for our second visit. It is a wonderful place, beautiful rooms, excellent views and location and breakfasts that are out of this world. Ed and Brian are terrific, we couldn't ask for nicer hosts. We will be back for a third time!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We just returned home from a two night stay in Boothbay Harbor at the Topside Inn. My husband and I have pretty particular taste and high expectations and after reading countless reviews from others before making our decision on where we would stay, the Topside did not disappoint.

Brian and Ed provide excellent service, very personalized with attention to the smallest of details. The Inn is immaculately maintained, inside and out, offers an incredible view of the Harbor and is a short walk into downtown - a true joy! The breakfast each morning was delicious.

I will definitely return if my travels bring me back to Boothbay Harbor, and I would absolutely recommend the Topside Inn to anyone I know who will be travelling there or even just looking for a suggestion of a great place to escape to for a vacation.

The only thing I didn't like was having to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is the ultimate bed and breakfast in Boothbay Harbor. Incredible views in almost every directions. Comfortable, clean, and convenient sounds way too pedestrian to describe this place. Brian and Ed are gracious hosts who strive to make your Topside experience unforgettable. And do they ever succeed! The breakfasts are amazing. They really should market the homemade granola. You just have to experience the Topside Inn to understand its amazing charm. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We have had the pleasure of staying here several times on trips to Boothbay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the view from the top of McKnown hill over the harbor is worth the trip in and of itself. All rooms whether in the main house or one of the two annexes are large, comfortable, and airy. The breakfast is always something to savor and the two innkeepers are friendly and very helpful. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed for five nights in Room 14 in early June. The view is as spectacular as advertised! While the weather was not perfect, I have to say everything else about our stay was. The personal tour of the Inn upon arrival, fabulous breakfasts and wonderful afternoon snacks were truly appreciated, as were their spot-on dinner recommendations. The owners truly know Boothbay Harbor and have loads of recommendations, yet never pushed themselves on us. I don't ever remember staying at a more impeccably clean Inn. Clearly pride of ownership shows here, and Ed and Brian should be very proud of what they have accomplished.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LBKDMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Ed and Brian's attention to detail, hospitality, delcious breakfast and the beauty of the area made this B&B one of the best we have ever experienced. Our room was exceptionally clean and perfectly appointed plus a great view. We loved every minute at the Topside Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolleySmithfield_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing