We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boothbay Harbor Treasure!”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Brian and Ed are the most wonderful hosts of the most wonderful Inn, with the most wonderful location in all of Boothbay Harbor! The rooms are beautiful and so well maintained and clean. The views from all around the Inn are unparalleled given that it sits at arguably the highest elevation in town. Ed cooks a mean breakfast and Brian's attention to service, detail & design are outstanding. Our teenaged daughters loved the afternoon cookies! We will definitely be making the 6 hour trek back to the Topside Inn sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best location, best view, we stayed in private rm. 8 for our honeymoon and loved it. The attention to detail and quality throughout was most impressive. Breakfast was incredible every day, Brian and Ed went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Thank you, Topside, for a perfect honeymoon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been to Boothbay many times over the last 20 years and this was the best stay ever. Granted, our daughter is now 20 so we can stay at a grown up place, but the view, the location, the room, the breakfast, afternoon cookies, and the wonderful staff make this the only place for us in the future !! Sitting on the lawn looking out on the harbor, sipping (BYOB)wine out of nice stemware, was a great way to start our weeklong family vacation - got us relaxing from the getgo:) And yes, i did think the spotty internet and cell phone reception was "quaint". Unplugging from society is an important part of vacation and we left the front desk number with the petsitter at home, so it wasn't like we couldnt be contacted in an emergency:) Kudos Brian and Ed - you will be our first stop on our next Maine vacation !!

Room Tip: Since we were traveling with our 20 year old daughter, it was nice that they had one room for 3 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momdrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Topside Inn sits atop of a knoll providing a panoramic view of Boothbay Harbor and the surrounding islands. The central building is an old-world gem that has been meticulously renovated to exacting standards. Hosts Brian and Ed have a keen eye for delivering a B&B experience second to none. Finely appointed rooms (we recommend #4, which has a commanding view of the harbor); cleanliness consistent with the highest standards; complimentary breakfasts (blueberry pancakes, anyone?); and attentive, yet unassuming, service--all are part of the "Topside experience." Well worth your time and money. This one does not disappoint! Many thanks Brian and Ed!

Room Tip: Room #4 is the best one--a commanding view of Bar Harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMSBEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our third time to Boothbay Harbor and our second time staying at the Topside. This year we were stayed for three nights and next year we plan on staying even longer. The Topside is made up of the main house and two guest houses. Ed cooks an outstanding and unique breakfast each day and it is served in the dining room of the main house overlooking the harbor.

Both times we have stayed in the Leeward guest house and I really prefer this because the room is extra large. It has two sinks, a refrigerator and windows on two sides and I love feeling the harbor breeze.

The main house and its covered porch with the rocking chairs is really nice but we spend most of our time sitting in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn overlooking the harbor and sharing a bottle of wine and conversation with the other guests.

There is a lot to do in Boothbay and I recommend the kayaking experience for exercise and the Boathouse Bistro for dinner.

Room Tip: We just love Room 19! Corner room with a good breeze and harbor view and sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I and a good friend were traveling to the Boothbay area for the first time and happened upon the Topside Inn after looking at internet sites. What a great find! The location is very convenient to the center of town - just a bit of a hike up a fairly steep but short hill. We checked in late so didn't meet our hosts till the next morning, but the keys to our rooms (#16 and #17) were waiting for us at the reception desk as promised. We stayed in one of the buildings away from the main house. We had a common balcony across our building with a great view of the harbor. Breakfasts were really delicious and very complete. There was a hot breakfast entrée served at the table each morning. The entire complex inside and out was spotless. Décor in our rooms was nicely updated - sort of a Pottery Barn on the coast effect. Bedding was very comfortable. Our rooms were plenty large with a small refrigerator in each. Bathrooms were tiny, but extremely well planned with plenty of shelf space for necessities. Fellow travelers were very friendly and offered suggestions on what to do, sites to see. Brian was very helpful with suggestions as well. Would we go back to the Topside Inn? You bet. I just hope we can stay for more than 2 nights next time. We also found that Karen Brown recommended the Topside Inn which only confirmed our opinion of the inn.

Room Tip: Call and talk to Brian if you need more than one room - he helped us put 2 rooms side by side on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathieColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Boothbay Harbor. Your hotel is very clean and inviting and your service was excellent. The views from the deck was so relaxing and we hope to stay again with you next summer.Brian and Ed know how to make their guests feel at home. Check out the Port of Italy in town for a real nice Italian meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliotMe_Douggone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $155 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing