We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topside - - On top of the Bluff”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
orlando
Level Contributor
542 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Topside - - On top of the Bluff”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This inn is located in a perfect spot in Boothbay Harbor, right atop a bluff looking down a grassy lawn and further to the harbor. Boothbay Harbor was our second stop, after Bar Harbor, on our mid-coast Maine vacation. If you are looking for a quiet town, this is not it. If you like a real tourist mecca, then this harbor town is for you. There is one shop after another for tourists to buy anything and everything. Also, Boothbay is rather hilly, so if you have difficulty walking, then you may want to by pass Boothbay Harbor. Anyway, Topside Inn is a real beauty. The owners have decorated it simply which gives the Inn a clean and very sharp look. The common area, or living room, has a warmth about it and has a gas burning fireplace. There are fresh cookies out each afternoon. Chairs on the grassy lawn and the front porch are plenty, as are blankets for the chilly afternoons. I would choose a room in the main house, and although there is some ambient noise from above, that's what is expected in an old home. The towels were white and thick, but I was surprised there was no third, or top sheet on the bed. The breakfast starts with fresh fruit daily, and a hot dish too. Topside is a top Inn in this harbor town.

Room Tip: get a room that faces the harbor in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    62
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
688
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Topside Inn was excellent. It was relaxing, the rooms were very nice, and breakfast was delicious. My wife and I came for three nights as part of our honeymoon based off the other reviews. We were not disappointed. If you are a guy like me who is going back and forth among different places, trying to find the perfect one for your wife/girlfriend, just stop looking and book your room here. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Topside. I had stayed there with my family 40 years ago so I remember what a wonderful location it was and chose it as our destination. WOW...what a pleasant surprise we found by going to a beautiful, immaculate well styled inn that is the quintessential place to stay as it's perched high over the harbor with views that are spectacular. Everything about the inn is immaculately clean and appropriately styled with quality. The sparkling clean guest rooms are wonderful offering the coziest of bedding (quilts, not your standard industrial hotel blankets). The attention to detail by our hosts was beyond our expectations...from the sideboard completely supplied with coffe, tea, snacks, barware, glassware and utensils (always available)...to the basket of blankets and insect repellent (not needed) set on the wrap around porch for your comfort! Our hosts, Brian and Ed are just fabulous Innkeepers! Ed mans the kitchen and obviously enjoys creating a delicious gourmet breakfast every morning, not to mention, scrumptious home-baked treats available in the afternoon. Brian is super friendly, very knowledgable and always happy to have a chat with a guest! Brian and Ed are two classy guys that seem to love their inn and it really is conveyed in the way they treat their guests. The location is the highest point in the village so its peaceful, quiet and offers the most spectacular view of the harbor yet EVERYTHING is in a few minutes walking distance...you never have to move your car. We wouldn;t consider staying at any other place and are looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We loved the 2nd floor of the leeward building...one can access the 2nd or 3rd floor without dealing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flanlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Topside and can confirm that the web site pictures and description are very accurate. The place is beautiful and neat as a pin. The town of Boothbay is lovely with a lot of things to do leaving little time to just ease back and enjoy the view from our terrace. It was indeed a relaxing stay. The highlight was the gourmet breakfast served each day which we thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to again next year. Ed and Brian are extremely conscientious and leave no details undone, very warm and friendly.

Sam & Donna Nashville, IN

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Topside Inn is set on a hill with a wonderful view of Boothbay Harbor, which is within easy walking distance. The inn keepers, Brian and Ed, are welcoming and helpful, and our room was clean, comfortable and stylishly appointed. The breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed our stay there very much and highly recommend this location for either an overnight stay or for a longer visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mej_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just the most spectacular view over harbor and coast! Great location on top of small hill (hence the name) within walking distance from all of town. Owners are exceedingly friendly and helpful with everything. Rooms are not large, but very nicely decorated in a modern and understated way and very clean. They are located in three buildings, the two away from the main building are just across the lawn, so no difficulty there. Breakfast is good, but not hearty in the traditional sense. Free WiFi everywhere. We would come back again without any hesitation. The one drawback ... the acoustic signal from one of the outer island lighthouses was audible for the entire night.

Room Tip: Room 14 offers a stunning view in one of the two separate building across the lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBerliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Beautiful inn, very clean,nicely decorated, delicious breakfasts, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful with directions, the view of the harbor was gorgeous! We would stay there again. The town of Boothbay Harbor is quite lovely. We were visiting for a destination wedding. I hope this makes 200 characters!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the main house, no problems at all. the room itself was a little small but had a nice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
659 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing