We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Puffins! and a Whale!”

Cap'n Fish's Puffin Nature Cruises
Ranked #5 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Puffin-watching cruise is kind of like an ocean-going treasure hunt… you just never know what's going to show up! As we travel through Boothbay Harbor and search for all the marvelous sea creatures which call this area their home, seals often surface near the boat, or can be found sunning themselves on the rocks. A loon flies by. A Minke Whale surprises everyone with its sheer size and bulk. And, of course there are lighthouses, which we know as permanent treasures here on the New England coast.As the boat gets to Eastern Egg Rock, everyone is up and looking around for those pint-sized little Puffins. We scan the rocks and the skies, and then someone shouts, and lo and behold there is a group of Puffins sitting in the water, bobbing up and down, perhaps 50 or 60 feet from the boat. More fly by, and soon someone spots a bunch sitting on the granite boulders along shore.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Puffins! and a Whale!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

I loved this cruise! I learned a lot about puffins and other seabirds. The Audobon guide aboard the boat was excellent, as was the captain. We were lucky enough to see a lot of puffins, but even luckier to get to see a minke whale, which surfaced very close to our boat. There was also a sighting of a harbor seal and many harbor porpoises. I would definitely take another cruise with Cap'n Fish's. This was something I will never forget!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sssssteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    10
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time With The Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Lovely, relaxing and educational way to spend the day in beautiful Boothbay! The length of the trip was perfect. The kids loved it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Risa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sequim
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

After seeing all the cards with these adorable puffins we opted for a tour. It was more of a long boat ride that finally slowed down around the puffins island and there we saw many tiny, tiny puffins from afar. Even with my 300mm lens the puffins were so small that I ended up deleting the shots.
The naturalist onboard was not very articulate regarding details or answering questions - which left a lot to be desired. It was a unanimous decision that we each spent $30 and that was far too much for this "tourist trap".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank makingchoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Sunset Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We love the sunset cruise! Great way to see the sites and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. We also like the fact that it is just long enough (about one hour and fifteen minutes) which makes it a good trip for children too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island Lady Puffin Cruise ( Boothbay, Maine)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

A beautiful clear day for the cruise and took lots of pictures..Saw lots of puffins, seals, gulls and more. Presenters did a great job on educating us about the puffins.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 398Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Puffin Nature Cruises also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Puffin Nature Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing