We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Introduction to Boothbay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner Eastwind

Schooner Eastwind
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail the waters of delightful Boothbay Harbor on our 65-foot schooner. See lighthouses, the outer islands, and sea wildlife on a two hour cruise. The Smith family has 30 years of boat building and sea adventures to share with you.
1 review
“Great Introduction to Boothbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a most excellent opportunity when we visited Boothbay Harbor, Maine recently with our grandchildren and took a trip on the Schooner Eastwind. It was a total pleasure to just make a peaceful sightseeing voyage of the area. There were only about a dozen other people on board, and we were well taken care of by.Capt. Sean and First Mate Sally. We all were very glad to have chosen this method of getting acquainted with the area, and received lots of good information about the surroundings we viewed, in addition to learning a wealth of interesting tidbits about sailing. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    12
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
So Ct
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must for every trip to Boothbay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The people sailing this schooner are the builders of the boat or their offspring. The boat is sixth in a line built by Captain Herb Smith and his incredibly hard working wife Doris. The two hour trip out to the outer islands of Boothbay Harbor is totally relaxing and quiet as the small engine is only used when docking. Scenery is fantastic and seal sighting are frequent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecatSoCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Schooner!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We enjoyed sailing on the Eastwind but the captain seemed to be more into himself and the shirt he was wearing with his name on it than giving us an education about our surroundings. When I asked him the name of the Lighthouse we were passing, he said I'm glad you asked that question. Give me a break!! We passed so many beautiful small islands but we had no clue where we were. The weather was beautiful and the wind was strong so we had a great sail!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sailing on the schooner Eastwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The first morning of our short trip to Boothbay Harbor, Maine we walked across the wooden bridge into town to "shop" for a boat cruise. The first ship we came to, the Eastwind, was just about to head out on the 10:00 am trip. We climbed aboard and headed out of the harbor with 7 other passengers and Doris and Herb Smith, the sailors. It was a sunny morning with a nice breeze, so they quickly turned off the engine and we were under sail, listening to the water and the wind in the sails and rigging.

Doris and Herb have built several boats and have sailed around the world twice, so we were in exceptionally good sailing hands. While we sailed around some of the islands off Boothbay Harbor Doris provided a running dialog about the islands, the lighthouses, and lobstermen and lobstering. She also did most of the foredeck work with a little bit of help from the children and young adults on board.

This cruise was relaxing and more informative than any of the other cruises we've taken, at a very competitive price.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zzweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing, great views and porpoise sightings.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great way to relax and enjoy the ocean views. Highlights included the knowledgeable captain, seeing the lighthouse and islands up close and a porpoise sighting. We went about 20 minutes over the 2 hour timeframe so we saw the next group of visitors waiting on the pier. Good for us, but glad we were on the first trip of the day. Bring your own water etc, there is nothing on the boat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Eastwind also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schooner Eastwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing