We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!!”
Review of Schooner Eastwind

Schooner Eastwind
Ranked #2 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail the waters of delightful Boothbay Harbor on our 65-foot schooner. See lighthouses, the outer islands, and sea wildlife on a two hour cruise. The Smith family has 30 years of boat building and sea adventures to share with you.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
293 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Well worth it!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We took the evening sail on the 6th and had an overall good time. The East Wind is stunning and so well kept!! The Captain was personable and so was Sally the first mate. It was a nice warm night to be off the Maine Coast as the sun went down. The only negative was the group of boisterous wine drinking middle age types that took away from what would have been a better time. We will be back again for a sail on the East Wind in the future!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    12
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful day for sailing.”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had a perfect day for sailing last weekend. Nice sized boat, plenty of room but personal. Very informative. Captain let interested passengers help hoist the sails. Wonderful day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazeysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love Herb & Doris”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We sailed with friends that have never sailed before and we all had a great time. We were lucky enough to have Herb as our captain and Doris as 1st mate. She even let me pull the last part of raising the sail before we took off. Of course those were the hardest pulls, but I did it. We had good winds and a great time sailing. Loved all the stories of their adventures too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank debis7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great windjammer ride”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We did the 2 hrs boat ride and we hadn't been on a saliboat that size before. The ride was great, we had wonderful wind and the boat really got on it side several times. The captain and his wife were very knowledgeable and had some interesting stories.
Love the entire ride - would recommend this to anyone

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarenTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best experience of the trip!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Herb & Doris Smith shared their beautiful schooner & skills w/ us on such a gorgeous fall day . . . what an awesome experience. Truly something i will always remember! Bought & read their most fascinating book - a story of "Sailing Three Oceans" w/ kids & cats & fitful seas. Amazing! And aboard vessels built by their own hands. ! ! ! An opportunity you have to take advantage of!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JennellCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Eastwind also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schooner Eastwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing