We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

It wasn't the best day weather wise and we were looking for something to do and came upon this. I wasn't too sure about the price at first but after getting on the boat I was really happy we decided to go. It did take a while to get out to the feeding area, but we still enjoyed the view and the education on the way out. We don't have kids but I wouldn't recommend taking young children as it's about 3 1/2 hours long and the very young kids on our boat seemed to get restless. Beautiful views and we had about 15 whale sightings (about 5 or 6 whales total). So glad we went; it was a great day to spend the afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WheelsUp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    95
    28
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Educated Staff; Gorgeous Day; Saw Whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a great time. The thing with whale watching is that clearly the captain and the crew are at the whim of nature. So they don't have a lot of control over whether you see whales. Fortunately we did - multiple finbacks - as close as 100 feet away. I think these folks really know their stuff, know where to find the whales, and clearly know what to look for. They spotted dark spots and blows well before most passengers did. The guide gives excellent narration on the different sea life - and even a little on the history of the homes and lighthouses on the coastline. Our day couldn't have been better in terms of weather. And, truth be told, the boat trip was so pleasant, my husband and I both agreed that we would've been fine had we not seen any whales.

We would highly recommend this trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harpmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go if you've never been but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

honestly, there are plenty better ways to spend $48. It's a nice trip out there to the feeding grounds but it seems like they like to appease the paying customers at the front of the boats and they'll steer the boat where the best view of the whales are always at the front of the boat. If someone sees a whale at 5 o'clock, you can be sure they'll turn the boat around for the customers in the front of the boat. If you're unlucky enough to only find a spot on the port side (left), you're just SOL. So if you've already been on whale watches, save the money on some lobsters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KamfromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guaranteed to see a whale!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We saw three Fin Whales, a Minke whale, many seals, an osprey with a baby in her nest, along with many interesting and beautiful land sites. The tour guide is a marine biologist and made for a very informative trip. The captain held up his guarantee...we saw whales!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent trip with kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We recently took our two young daughters on the whale watch. Initially we weren't sure this would be the best idea with young children because we weren't sure they would be entertained enough on the boat and were afraid of them getting sea sick. We needn't have worried at all. The boat ride was so much fun, particularly with the narrator pointing out different attractions along the way. We were lucky enough to take our trip during the lobster boat races, so she talked a lot about the lobster boats and lobster industry. We really learned a lot, and our 9 year old was fascinated by the whole process. Once we got to the feeding grounds, the narrator and the captain did a great job of finding the whales and putting us in a good position to see them. We had about 6 or 7 sightings of finback whales on one trip. The whole experience was magical. They also pointed out seals, sea birds, among other things. A very good experience, and good value for the money paid. Highly recommend it! Oh, and no one was sea sick. The trip was very smooth and pleasant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlsgirls_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing