We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw some Minke and Fin Whales”

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saw some Minke and Fin Whales”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Saw some Minke and Fin whales during our trip. Took forever to get out to feeding ground. Only got to spend around 20 minutes at the feeding grounds chasing whales. Really only got one good side view of a Fin whale for about 3-5 seconds.

Cost $96 for two of us but they did what they say would do and we saw some whales. I wouldn't go again but it was worth going one time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    95
    28
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“thar she blows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

we had the best time on this whale watch...we got to see what we set out for...great host on board and very informative..the weather was perfect....wonderful 4 hr. trip i ever took....thanks to all involved on that trip...saw fin back, humpback, dolphins, seals, birds, and lots of ocean..lol...great experience...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank silky6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is the best boat ride ever. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The harbor is beautiful. We saw many whales, dolphins and seals.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ann v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Take the River Cruise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's a bit chilly in early October in Maine, but we decided to pile on some clothing and take a cruise anyway. I'm certainly glad we did!
We took the Kennebec River - Bath Cruise which was a 3 hour, 44 mile tour across Boothbay Harbor, up the Kennebec River to Bath and the Iron Works, past the historic Civil War era fort, and 6 or 7 lighthouses. We saw porpoises and seals in the harbor and 3 bald eagles along the river. The narration was easy to hear and was informative and funny. The route was a big loop, so unlike a lot of tours there was no backtracking, and traveling up the river there was always something to see and photograph on each side of the ship. The ship was clean and appears well-maintained. The captain handled it beautifully. I can't recommend this tour enough!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Lin603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seen Lots of Whales”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Watch watching at times can be hit or miss, however during our recent trip to Maine in Sept 2012 we hit a bonanza of whales and other mammals. The trip was about 3 ½ hours in duration, the boat was fine and the crew was fantastic. Up front they communicated to us if we didn’t see any whales that we would be given a free ticket to be used for another whale watch in the future (no expiration). The “naturalist” conducting the tour has very knowledgeable and helpful and we seen about 20-30 whales, sea otters and about 100+ harbor seals. Overall I would recommend this as we had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing