We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, great price, saw lots of whales, definitely a must-do while here!”

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Reviewed August 13, 2011

we went on this trip not sure what to expect but had such an awesome time! the captain and the crew were so great and we saw whales, a few seals and a white tipped shark. i would definitely recommend this trip for anyone who visits this area.

1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 744 of 782 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Wow! What an amazing trip. The ride out to Eastern Egg Rock from Boothbay Harbor was fast and pleasant. The Audubon guide was excellent and informative. When we got to the location the captain took his time circling the island slowly several times. the puffins were swimming and flying all around us. It was truly a wonderful trip and something every bird lover should do at least once in their lifetime. Thanks for the fantastic trip!

Thank Lorene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

What a great trip!!! We absolutely love the Harbor Princess & her wonderful crew! Whale watching on the Princess is definitely the best!! Strongly recommend!

Thank lbpmep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boothbaywhales, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!! Hope to see you on board soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Very informative tour, saw a basking shark, it followed the boat for about 30 minutes.Then we saw a fin back whale several times. Just watching for the whale blows is exciting. I read their facebook entries everyday to see how much marine life they experienced on that particular day. If you don't see whales they invite you back free on another day. I have been several times and have enjoyed each visit. The sites and sounds of the Atlantic ocean make this experience one you will always remember.

Thank MrsM04537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boothbaywhales, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2011

We appreciate the great support of all of our passengers on Trip advisor and Facebook, Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We did the Puffin Sightseeing trip. It was a beautiful boat ride out to Egg Island. The staff was very friendly pointing out all sorts of wildlife along the way. We saw harbor porpoise and seals right off the boat. The naturalist was wonderful explaining how the puffins live, how they breed and her experience living on the island for research. We saw about 25 puffins that day. Would recommend bringing binoculars or high zoom lens because the puffins are pretty small.

Thank Amunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainewhales, Public Relations Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

hello amunda, thank you for this review of capn fishs cruises,we have been doing this cruise for over 20 years and have seen the puffin colony grow over 100 fold.sightings have been the best ever this season.morning is always the best time for viewing, and we are the only company on the midcoast to offer this time frame.i hope you will return to eastern egg rock or try one of our other cruises or whale watches.thank you capn fishs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing