We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our very pleasent stay in boothbay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisonville, Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our very pleasent stay in boothbay”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I never knew about this site before and its a good idea. I'd like to give the Cap'n Fish inn a big atta boy. We have stayed at this place many times, this time it was for four nights and three days. We have found that this inn is very people oriented and accommodating. Starting at the coffee bar to the staff that work there. The staff is there for your every wish. Accommodations were well worth the price we paid for being right on the water and close to all activities. The whale watching tour is a high light that needs to be experinced. The pilot, Captain John Fish, greeted everyone coming aboard and kept us informed of everything. Very funny fellow.. My family and I are planning next years trip, which includes the inn and sight seeing up the coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louise7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    121
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
138
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our family travels quite a bit so we've had lots of hotel experiences. Our most pleasant stays are at the Cap’n Fish’s Waterfront Inn in Boothbay Harbor. For us it is the perfect romantic get- away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Each employee we meet seems to enjoy working there which is a reflection on its management. The rooms are clean and spacious . The rates are quite reasonable even in peak season.
The view of the harbor is spectacular. You need to see it for yourself. Each morning before venturing out for the day, we enjoy our breakfast in the coffee shop/restaurant. From here you also have a breathtaking view of the harbor and its surroundings.
The Inn is in short walking distance to great shopping, boat trips, site seeing and wonderful restaurants. We return year after year and will continue to come here. We have recommended the Inn to many family members and friends and have received very positive feedback. There is something special about a family-owned and run business. That special feeling you will definitely experience here.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank guys032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We agree with the majority of the reviewers.Friendly staff,clean comfortable rooms and beautiful view.We especially enjoyed taking our morning cup of coffee down to the deck that is right on the waters edge.What a way to wake up! Great nights sleep. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We enjoyed our conversations with the front desk staff. They know the area well and had some good recommendations. They also offer a great discount on Whale Watch tickets,which was also a great trip!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tucker1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Staff very helpful. Room sufficient. Continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, donuts. Coffee & tea available all day. Walk into town over footbridge. Daytime is fine - can be tricky in dark. but parking is available in town at this time of year. Advantage of being on "other" side of footbridge is the lovely view of harbor from hotel. Parking is plentiful at hotel. We stayed two nights and used Boothbay as jumping off point to see other towns in Maine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed at a Super 8 in Bangor for half the price, and the room was no less than 4-5 stars on every rating, as contrasted with this place that I stretched to give a final rating of 2 stars. I reserved 2 non-refundable nights here on the basis of the stunning reviews here. These stunning reviews are completely false, and I'm re-thinking ever relying on TripAdvisor again for ratings of lodgings. This room was dark, dingy, tired, cramped, had a tiny bathroom, no table, ZERO flat surface-space to put anything on other than the second bed (!), and tiny towels so thin I could almost see through them, and that icky stale smell layered with air "freshener." Continental breakfast consisted of 2 cereal choices, 2 juices, coffee. Nuf said. I was stunned.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Thank you for taking time to review us on TripAdvisor. Although, we wish you had come to the front desk if you were unhappy about your room. We do have several different types of rooms and would have been happy to let you see if another room would have met your needs. We always try to do our best to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. We are not a five star property, but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and attention to guests' needs. Our continental breakfast is basic: two cereals, donuts, two juices, coffee and tea. We do have a breakfast restaurant on the property which serves eggs, pancakes, french toast waffles, breakfast sandwiches...etc.
As far as the nonrefundable two nights, we do not have that policy. If a guest wants to check out early and not stay a second night, we do not require them to pay for the second night provided they check out by check out time (11:00 a.m.).
Again, I am sorry that our property did not meet your needs, but we thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

this is a mear motel, with a 70's look to it, the view is the onlything it has going for it. there are much better places than this Motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtravelboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We've stayed at many places in Boothbay over the years, and this was our first experience at the Capn's. Overall, it was comfortable, clean and mostly quiet. We slept well. Unfortunately, we were given a room next to a wooden staircase and could hear folks as they used them. The view is mostly good but you have to look across the parking lot. The "continental" breakfast was rather weak, consisting of doughnuts and two cold cereals. We like some protein for breakfast. There is however, a tasty and reasonably priced little grill on the property that serves breakfast and lunch that we would recommend.
It's not fancy and therefore would recommend it with reservations

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkster2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing