We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cap'n Fish's is still the BEST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just returned from our 3rd visit this summer since Memorial Day weekend to Cap'n Fish's. It is still the BEST getaway for us. First of all, the staff is wonderful (Hi to Diane, Marilyn, Sheila, Laurie and Linda) and our 2 chambermaids are very nice and do a great job...the rooms are always immaculate with new improvements every year! (The new mattresses are so comfortable...sleep like a baby.) I forgot a dress in our room this visit and before we arrived home Sheila had left a message on our answering machine asking if I'd like her to mail it to me. Thank you to Sheila and to Sonia, our chambermaid for being so kind. The view from Cap'n Fish's is the absolute best stress therapy you could ever ask for.....the harbor is so beautiful.....all the boats coming and going.....sailboats, lobster boats, tour boats, big boats, little boats. The sunsets in the evening are unbelievable !!!! The sky was so purple and pink last night over the water....breathtaking!!!! We brought our kayaks this trip and there is a public boat launch right next door to Cap'n Fish's or you can go to beautiful Barrett Park (5 minutes away) to kayak or swim there also. We are always happy to come back to our home, but it is always so hard to leave Cap'n Fish's. We love it and will continue to look forward to our next visit. Another wonderful extra treat at Cap'n Fish's is the Dockside Grill that is on the premises...waterfront, casual dining with the most delicious meals...breakfast, lunch and dinner...all homemade food with the freshest ingredients...lobster is offered at least a dozen ways on the menu from lobster benedict (the best I've ever had) to a full 3 lobster steamed dinner). Don't miss it if you go....it is fabulous !! Many years ago we stayed at other places in Boothbay Harbor, but after our first stay at Cap'n Fish's we have never gone anyplace else. It is the BEST !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easyriderNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 295 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family of 3 stayed at Cap'n Fish's for 3 nights while in town for a wedding. We got an efficiency room which had 2 beds, a pull-out sofa, a dining table and chairs and a kitchen. The decor is a blast from the past, but it is clean and functional. There was a deck with a table and umbrella right outside our room giving us a nice place to have coffee or drinks and view the harbor. Very friendly staff, close to the footbridge to downtown, and next door to the lobster docks! A good value and a place I would return to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GynoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is far from luxury, but it is a pleasant place to overnight. The staff are helpful and polite, and it is conveniently located. We had a water view room, and the breeze was great. If you are only stopping over for one night, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coc3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've stayed here 4 times. If you're looking for luxury, forget it. If you're looking for a nice place to stay while in Boothbay Harbor, this is perfect. The efficiency rooms are really nice and not very expensive and they have a shared deck to go out on and enjoy the view of the harbor. The staff is incredibly nice, as are most of the people in Boothbay Harbor. It's right next to The Lobster Dock, and a short walk to the footbridge that takes you right into town. I can't wait to book my next stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the efficiency rooms - much roomier plus a great view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DisneyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was small & outdated. Nice view from the deck not far from our room. It was very hot outside & they only had 1 umbrella on the deck. Upon arrival we were told there was only 1 dog friendly room left. The room was located at the very end of the porch. It was looking out at the very small dog relief area. We asked to move to a better room & said we would be leaving if not relocated. Well another desk clerk amazingly found us a oceanview room. The rate was increased by $30 per night. We planned on staying 3 nights but we left after 2. Double beds are uncomfortable. We will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you need to get away and have a Wonderful stay in an enjoyable town, I would recommend booking a room at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn. Very easy to get around and close to town and peaceful. The help goes out of their way to assist you and make your stay a time to remember. It's located walking distance to downtown Boothbay Harbor and many restaurants, as well offers an Excellent and Fun onsite place to eat. It's a good value for your money and stay in Boothbay Harbor, ME

Room Tip: You have different choices of views of the harbor. Parking is very easy and right on the premises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark Chumpy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Cap'n Fish's on a drive through Maine during the Fall. It was O.K. for a quick stop when you need a place to sleep for a night. There was nothing else available. It was clean & the staff were friendly. That was a great plus. Perfect location to walk through this quaint village. Just up the street is the Lobster Wharf & while there the church bells started ringing & playing hymns. It was a beautiful feeling!

Room Tip: Room facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $102 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing