We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent front desk person - very helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, MA
1 review
“Excellent front desk person - very helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The scenery was beautiful, the room was immaculate, comfortable beds, and the staff was wonderful. This was a great bargain for the room cost and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Booth Bay.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank aunteekacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    102
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
70
119
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Cap'n Fish's was very clean, had polite and informative people behind the desk, and had a nice continental breakfast. It was right on the water. Great to sit at night on the pier, watching the stars and the waves! Discount on whale watching boat tours-- we saw whales 5 times. Great view from the room of the harbor; very quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed two nights at this facility. The room was clean, but the beds were lumpy and sagged visibly in the middle. The continental breakfast consisted of two types of donuts and two types of cereal, with cranberry or orange juice. It seemed as though the hotel was pushing more for guests to visit the on-site restaurant for breakfast. On the plus side, the restaurant does make their own bread and it is divine! The wifi connection was sketchy, even using several different connections for the same hotel. All together the view was great (water front) but the amenities were what you would expect from your local motel 6.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loni518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Tripadvisor did not let me down--Cap'n Fish's is certainly a find! This is a motel with a view in a great location. The rooms are clean, the bathroom had a full-sized tub, and there were chairs provided to sit out on the walkway area (that functioned kind of like a balcony, but with occasional people walking by.) The woman who checked us in could not have been nicer, the layout is great--the way the building is set up, almost every room has a view of the harbor--and did I mention that the price is very reasonable?

My husband and I recently stayed at a resort hotel with an Italian fishing village theme (in Orlando--I'm sure you can figure out where) and loved it. But as we sat out on the walkway at Cap'n Fish's, my husband remarked 'I can't believe we thought ___ was beautiful. THIS is the real thing!'

As for the location, it can't be beat. Yes, it is across the harbor from 'all the action'. But first, it is maybe a ten minute walk away (if you walk slowly) and second, why would you want to STAY in the action? This is a quiet retreat away from the touristy shops. Additionally, given the state of disrepair of the one 'big' hotel that's 'right in the middle of it all', I'd take Cap'n Fish's any time! Oh and did I mention it is right next door to THE BEST lobster shack we enjoyed during our month-long Maine and Maritimes road trip?

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25 and found the view to be PERFECT. It had one king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbodans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Just one correction...you must have stayed in room 35, as that has a king bed and a beautiful view! Room 25 is a standard room with two double beds.
Again, thank you. We'll look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wapp.falls ,new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Inn right on the water. Can sit and watch all the boats coming and going. Room was clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Has small restaurant on premsis for breakfast and lunch. They also provide for free coffee, cereal and donuts in the AM.Inn is close to shopping and other activities. If you book a boatride directly with them on there vessels you get a discount too. Will definately go there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bagbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We spent 4 nights in a waterfront family room. Not 'smart' or chain place. Old fashioned and felt as if people had been returning year in and out. A little run down, but charming for that. 5min walk from a bridge that takes you straight into the heart of the little tourist village where most restaurants are. There is a breakfast/lunch diner right in front of the hotel which is great, traditional food and well priced, very pleasant people. Or you can help yourself to breakfast in a tiny room by Reception, cereal, juice, donuts, coffee - perfectly adequate. We took away back to the nearby room for lazy teenagers. Large free area to park in front of hotel. We had emailed in advance to book on to Whale watch and Pufin watch - well worth doing as you get a decent discount if you book through the hotel and this assures you of a place. Be warned, you can board 30ms before it sails and I would urge you to do so. You want to sit outside upstairs, all those seats go quickly. We loved both trips, well worth it. Only blip with the hotel was the rather grim middleaged bespectacled receptionist who humourlessly booked us in without a word to spare. When I asked her politely the next day if she thought the rain might ease I was abruptly referred to the weather chanel in the succinct snapped sentence 'channel 33 is for weather', A simple shrug and a smile would have been nicer. Perhaps a job where she wouldn't be bothered by those annoying hotel guests would suit her better.

Room Tip: Book early to get harbourview at busy periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marynigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A quick walk across the footbridge gets you to all the shops. Hotel staff friendly, we were able to get discounted boat tickets, and the diner nearby served quick and plentiful food. The room was slightly outdated, but VERY clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfersDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, cable tv, in room coffee makers, hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing