We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Spruce Point Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Spruce Point Inn for three nights in August. The inn is not in town, but that is an advantage if you are looking for a restful retreat. The inn provides shuttle service into town so you do not need to drive and park in town if you do not want to. We were upgraded to a room on the second floor of the inn with a spectacular water view. The sunsets each night were beautiful. The grounds are beautifully maintained; we enjoyed walking around and enjoying the flowers and the views.We had breakfasts and dinners each day at the inn and found the food service to be excellent. They have a kitchen garden and you can recognize the freshness of the produce. We enjoyed our spa treatments and sitting on the deck in the spa area. The staff was very helpful. They recognized when we occasionally needed some help and were very accommodating.

Room Tip: Inn building does not have an elevator, but stairway is wide and manageable for someone who is able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Southisland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 943 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very expensive but worth every penny. If you have kids you won't have to spend a dime. Cook in-house and let them enjoy the free bikes and kayaks, the two pools, the tennis courts, the volley ball and badmiton, the lawn chess, the shuffle board and the shmore bonfires every night. The pictures don't do it justice. If you need wi-fi you'll have to drive to the town library parking lot,the inn's signal simply sucks- the price of being on the edge of a huge pine forest I guess.....

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I have been coming to Spruce Point since our oldest was 1 year old -- 19 years ago. We've been three times with kids, and this time was our first without. All have been terrific. We've stayed in different types of accommodations and all worked well, from a small room, to a multi-room cabin, to a condo with multiple bedrooms and a full kitchen. The Inn is very pretty and well-maintained, and the views from the front of the property (over the bay) are stunning, especially at sunset. The property has a large pool which our kids loved when they were younger, and a small pool overlooking the bay. There are also evening activities for kids. We've enjoyed massages a few times at the spa. The Inn is about 1.5 miles from the very nice town of Boothbay Harbor, and there are many choices of restaurants -- particularly good lobster places - and touristy stores. We've enjoyed the restaurants at the Inn in the past, but went into town this time. There are also lots of hiking trails within easy reach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelerFromNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I wanted to offset an earlier comment I'd made about this inn.
They do have issues with their WIFI capability, but when they discovered we were having an issue with the signal strength in our cottage room (Sunset C) they first tried adjusting the signal strength asking for our feedback afterward. When that didn't work, they provided us with a personal verizon "jet pack" hotspot for our room. Thank you Spruce Point Inn for your extra effort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelNmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I must admit that I am very particular and travel often. SPI is a very special place. From the moment that you wind the corner and see the property your "relaxation gene" kicks in. The gardens are amazing as is the ocean view which are all visible from check in to your suite. SPI is a place to relax at the Oceanside pool or take in one of many activities that are complimentary. I chose paddle boarding on the Harbor. All of the choices are gratis and first class.

The staff is excellent. They are professional, personable,and relaxed at the same time. Dining in the restaurants is excellent.

I travel often and must admit i rarely write a review. SPI is very special and worth the review. SPI is worth the visit. Relax in an amazing location and have the choice of what your downtime consists of!

I will be back.

Room Tip: Ocean view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I got married on 08/2/14. My wife and I stayed here with our families last week. Very one is so helpful and respectful. There is so much to do just on the resort. They provide a ferry for you to take over to the harbor which is nice.. Love SPI!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This property is well maintained, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is great attention to detail. Best surprise was that the food and beverage were outstanding. No taking advantage of a captive audience at all--we truly wanted to dine there for every meal.
Our room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the refrigerator. I would agree with other reviewers that the wifi should be better described because it does not work well, which is understandable, but then it should just be honestly related to the guests. My husband actually needed it in order to study for his daily navigation exercises and could not, which was a problem.
Great attention to detail--one day we had wet swimsuits on the porch railing and a houseman came with golf cart to all of the cottages and was hanging people's wet garments on drying racks. There is so much to do, or not to do, for everyone. We took advantage of the salt water pool, the s'mores pit at night, the playground and rec room.
What a treat! Great value!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seabreeze cottage, #2. It was roomy enough for my husband and 3 year old son. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beanerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
1.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $205 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing