We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pretty Place, Eh Service, Ok food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty Place, Eh Service, Ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thought this hotel was absolutely beautiful and the accommodations are very accommodating: comfortable bed, cable tv, big bathroom, terrace, golf cart to take you place. However, I had an issue with the service. We booked our room in advance and was not advised that we were being placed in a handicapped room (what happened if someone who was handicap booked a room after me?). Anyway, the room was compromised due to this, we had a smaller shower and sink and handicap hairdryer which didn't work so well. I have no problem with handicap facilities, but we should have been advised of this so I would have taken a blow dryer or so we can ask for a different room. Or maybe we could have payed a little less for the lesser of amenities. The food also was great for the weddign we went to, but not so good for breakfast, otherwise. Better off going to town for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    159
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
311
371
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just wanted to write you a quick note to say we had a FANTASTIC time at Spruce Point last week! The weather was spectacular, Cardinal Cottage was the epitomy of relaxation, and your facility and amenities were stunning (as usual!). Most importantly, you staff absolutely cannot be beat! They are so friendly and responsive! We all loved listening to Pam play her guitar and sing around the s'mores campfire at night; Chris, our two daughters, my mother-in-law and I all had an awesome bike ride into town (when we were able to drag the girls out of the heated pool!); we had an unforgettable sail boat ride on the Sarah Meade with Randy and Nate that we would do again in a HEARTBEAT; and we had a delicious - flawless in every way - dinner at Bogie's on Thursday night. Thank you so much! You and your staff do a great job!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I traveled here for a weekend getaway. Service was wonderful from start to finish. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings and had dinner at the 88 - all three meals were great and very reasonably priced.

We took advantage of the free water shuttle into town with Captain Rick - very nice way to see the harbor and didn't have to deal with parking in town. They also had kayaks and bikes available. The only downfall is that there wasn't enough bikes on site so we weren't able to use them.

All in all a great getaway and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in Bluebird - lovely room with wood burning stove, kitchenette and porch - no water view thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York, USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This property is a total gem. The room we had was very large- had its own terrace with rocking chairs, looked out onto Boothbay Harbor- a view that can never be duplicated. The service was outstanding, restaurants have great food at very reasonable prices. Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: The main lodge rooms have lots of history and the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fd20man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have traveled to the Boothbay Harbor area over the course of many years and stayed in very basic accommodations. This year, we decided to stay at a resort with some more amenities. I was very disappointed in the Spruce Point Inn. It received glowing recommendations from other travelers, so I was expecting more. The check in was disorganized. The woman at the front desk was pleasant enough, though not especially welcoming. Perhaps she was new, but she did not seem to have a clear idea of check in protocols or resort information. She was basically reciting information from a script and couldn't really answer specific questions. When we finally did get to our room, it was not clean. There was garbage under the bed and there were food crumbs on the floor from previous guests. I was barefoot and stepped on something sticks--perhaps a bite of cake? The ice bucket had some crumbs or dirt in it. The shower curtain in the bathroom had some pink mold growing around the bottom. After we complained, the floor was a bit cleaner and the ice bucket was replaced. We stayed for 4 days and one of the garbage cans was never emptied.
On a more positive note, the food in all 3 restaurants was delicious and the restaurant staff could not have been more pleasant or attentive. That was the highlight of our stay.
In general, I have traveled to many destinations both in the United States and abroad. For the price, the Spruce Point Inn was not up to expected standards for cleanliness and value for the money. Be aware that there is a hefty resort fee tacked onto the room price which is already pretty pricey. If you don't plan on spending most of your time on the property to utilize the "free" amenities, you're probably better off staying someplace else.

Room Tip: One of the best parts of this resort is the view, so it's worth a little extra for the any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being such a loyal visitor of Boothbay Harbor and for visiting Spruce Point this time.

For future guests, the accommodation referenced in this review is the Balsam Oceanfront Lodge. It's occupied about 98% of the season and seems to be consistently referred to as immaculate.

I recognize that mistakes can be made and I am glad that we quickly resolved the waste basket, ice bucket, and crumbs for you. I am also glad you loved the Inn's restaurants. We consider the restaurants as a key amenity to a visit to the Inn.

The additional amenities that are included in the Inn's resort fee are amongst some of the best. But, perhaps they are not your style?? And, that's ok.

Angelo DiGiuilian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a fabulous mini-vacation at Spruce Point Inn. My husband and I got married there in 2005, and we've been back every year. It's a wonderful resort in an amazing location. We love staying there and exploring Boothbay every summer. There are many kid activities at the inn: camp, 2 pools (one saltwater, one fresh water), a game room, kayaking, and a nice playground. The spa is great. We love it there!

Room Tip: Even the partial ocean view rooms have a very nice view, in my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AS2289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second stay at Spuce Point Inn and was better than the first. It is a wonderful and relaxing escape from our daily lives in Suburban Chicago. Boothbay Harbor is wonderful. The only negitive was the food at SPI. All the wonderful eateries in Boothbay Harbor more than made up for this minor shortcoming. We were charmed to find out the Kennedy family vacationed at SPI and Albert Einstein Sailed the beautiful waters of Boothbay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must but $$$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Boothbay Harbor at Spruce Point. Please contact me regarding your dining experience.

Angelo DiGiulian
adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Top 20 Northeast Resort, Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. Located about an hour drive "down east" from Portland in the seafaring village of Boothbay Harbor. For more than 100 years, the inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and has provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create delightful memories. Along a stunning stretch of oceanfront on Maine's rugged coast, the Spruce Point Inn is a family resort and the ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing