We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room with a breathtaking view. The entire property is ansolutely beautiful. The service through out the whole resort was incredible. I walked in the lobby on the second day and the woman at the front desk knew exactly who I was. Ken, the captain of the boat that takes you into town was one of the highlihhts. He is by far the nicest person you will meet. Incredibly competent also! we went on a private tour which is available to all guests, and Ken took us over by an island which housed a bald eagles nest and there was the four month old eagle sitting in the tree! We were impressed with all the improvements to the property this year. It seems like every year, the staff finds things to improve during the off season. We cannot say enough good things about this resort. We have a seventeen year old who came with us and we didn't hear a complaint all week! Now that's a vacation !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela4408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    168
    56
    19
    7
See reviews for
328
402
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved this resort and thought it would be an excellent place to stay with children/grandchildren. So much to do for all ages. It was such a quiet and peaceful spot on the coast with on-site facilities to boat, swim, eat s'mores around the fire, etc. We did not have the time as we were just passing through, but we will definitely be back. The rooms were simple and large, but our balcony overlooked the water and had two adirondack chairs. The bathroom was huge with a lovely tub. I could see being here in all types of weather. We ate at both restaurants and were duly impressed with choice, presentation and taste.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagoehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I am only reviewing the brunch at Bogie's; we did not stay here. We have been coming here for Sunday brunch for about four years. For the past two it is only in Bogie's; it used to be in the main dining room but that has changed. This is a great brunch value for only fifteen dollars (!) per person. The only off note was this one meal where the pancakes were incredibly salty (this was the only failing we have encountered at a total of about eight or nine meals there over the years). That aside, the rest of the food was fresh and delicious. There are scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, french toast, etc. Included in the price is juice and coffee. One of our party had the lobster Benedict (nineteen and change) which was delicious. The service was very quick and friendly as well as attentive. Our server stopped twice to apologize for the delay in the serving of the lobster Benedict stating that the 'chef was extremely busy'. I caution that it is a small venue seating perhaps thirty to forty at a maximum so you might encounter a wait if you don't have reservations; we showed up at 1030ish without a reservation and were seated in five minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaysideConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I can't say enough great things about this place. Wonderful staff, great food, clean and simple accommodations, many activities. We live in a Mountain State, and are accustomed to five-star luxurious ski resorts. This ranks with them.

The rooms are simple, but they are nice, clean and extremely functional. The food is very good and caters to multiple tastes. The staff -although from around the world-maintain the Maine friendliness in abundance. Then the surroundings: this coastline is spectacular.

Spruce Point is one of those classic seashore resorts you read about books or see in movies (it is over 100 years old) but with modern updates and at accessible rates.

Room Tip: Call early because they fill the vacancies. Also, I left multiple voice messages for reservations bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently returned to the Inn for another great get away weekend. This is our second time staying here and we can not say enough about the place! The staff are incredible and the location can't be beat. We were here during some of the hottest days this summer and it was so fun. The pools were refreshing, but the biggest treat was swimming off the docks in the ocean...so beautiful. Our room had all the amenities we needed (and the air conditioning was great). We ate at the inn both nights (and enjoyed the campfire with s'mores after dinner!) The service was impeccable. The front desk receptionist, the women working at the spa, the waitstaff and the young girl working the s'more pit, were professional and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable. We absolutely love the Inn and will be back next year.
Thanks again for another fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spitfire101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I returned to the Spruce Point Inn this summer with my girlfriend following a great stay last year. Once again, our expectations were exceeded. From the beautiful grounds, to the friendly staff, Spruce Point is becoming a favorite travel spot for us. We enjoyed the kayaking and tennis offered right at the resort. We sprung for a fancy dinner in the 88 Grandview restaurant this year and highly recommend it. We even received muffins for the next morning at the end of our dinner. We both hope to be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopherG_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our fourth year at SPI - the view is unparalleled, and the oceanside pool is my favorite amenity. These are the things for which we have returned each year. This year, however, we were vastly disappointed with small but numerous service issues which became off-putting.

Upon arrival, the front desk was certainly lacking in friendliness and a welcoming attitude. They seemed stiff, unhappy and perfunctory at best. Fine, a small thing, but added to the totality of our experience.

The first evening, we went to the bar to ask for wine glasses to use with wine we brought for afternoon drinks. We were handed short plastic cups - I was stunned. We had never had this issue on prior visits - we spent approximately $1200 on the room alone to stay for three nights, and we have to use plastic cups???

The next morning, I went to get coffee in the lobby - and had to stand in a line behind 5 other people as there was one Keurig coffee maker. This was the norm each day. Is it really so hard to put out carafes of coffee? The "complimentary" muffins were nonexistent all three mornings of my stay, as the basket was perpetually empty. It seemed to be a cheap exit from having to actually provide a simple service.

Housekeeping is sorely in need of training and supervision; a plate we brought to our room with fruit for our son sat there for 2 days, ignored by housekeeping. More importantly, when our toilet clogged, it was completely ignored when they came in! We then asked one of the housekeepers for a plunger, but she never returned. We finally had to call the front desk. Interestingly, while they "made" the sleep sofa my son slept in, they did not bother to then fold it back up so it could be used as a sofa for the day. Bizarre. Moreover, they do not replace disposable cups in the room, so the coffee maker is rendered useless. What's the point?

The s'mores station was completely confusing - guests can sit there, but are not allowed to make their own. They are handed a s'more the staff makes - isn't the fun in making your own? It was quite awkward at best.

Finally, the moist atmosphere leads to wood rot - the railing to our unit was wobbly and almost fully detached fom the building; a chair on the deck broke when sat upon. Certainly, they need to be more attentive to this.

I should note that the Inn was not overly busy, so these issues cannot be blamed on a full house or a wedding. While these are all minor issues, for the cost of a three night minimum stay, I would expect a more polished experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank allover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review
August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Spruce Point Inn. It was a pleasure to talk with you today on the phone. I do appreciate the opportunity to respond to your review and I thank you for the call.

It was great to hear that you had another positive experience at SPI.

As we spoke, we are pleased to deliver wine glasses to your guest room. There is nothing like enjoying a favorite bottle of wine on your porch overlooking the ocean. In this case, you came to the bar and indicated that you would be sitting outside on the Deck. As a policy, we do not use glassware on the Deck for safety reasons. I have spoken to the manager and discussed how to more appropriately explain this policy in the future.

The lobby Keurig machine makes a cup of Green Mountain coffee in 19 seconds. I recognize that it was a little busy that morning. I have never heard this comment before but will certainly consider how we may better serve you in the future. We talked today about adding another Keurig machine.

It is unusual that the fruit would not have been discarded if you placed it in a manner that indicated you wanted it cleaned up. Removing guests personal items is a judgment call and is our responsibility to address appropriately.

The sleeper sofa, if requested to be used for the entire stay, is reset each day and left open. As a prior customer, you know the Inn does not offer turn down service. However, if you had asked, we would have been pleased to make this exception for you. I am sorry about the plunger and any miscommunication.

We have spoken about this one as well. It seems that your sons came to the s'mores pit after hours and the fire was out but the s'mores server had made up some to go 'smores for late comers. I am sorry the boys missed the full experience.

Guests consider SPI a pristine property. We work very hard to keep the Inn this way and address maintenance issues immediately.

The fact that you felt Spruce Point was not busy is a real compliment to our efforts. The Inn was full or close to full during your stay. For future guests, the property is spread out across 17 acres of developed land and 42 acres of woodland trails. Our goal throughout the years has been to keep a high percentage of green space to allow our guests privacy to enjoy the natural surroundings. The Inn will only accommodate 250 guests and limits weddings to the shoulder seasons. I am pleased our efforts were on the mark for you again this season.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review the Inn and to chat with me on the phone. I am pleased you had a most enjoyable stay and will return next year for your fifth season.

Sincerely,

Angelo DiGiulian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing