We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I saw that this the top rated resort at Boothbay Harbor. What I didn't understand that this is a world-class resort. I mean, they were making S'mores for the kids in a back firepit! Kayaks, sailboat, pool, Oh My. We are definitely coming back a bringing kids and grandkids. Loved this spot

Room Tip: We stayed in Seabreeze 2, which was lovely. With the kids I'm going to try for Starboard, a 4 b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 922 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Spruce Point Inn is the perfect location for an authentic Maine experience. The view is amazing (make sure to choose a room with a view), the people (guests and staff) are very friendly and helpful, the Inn is clean and well kept. We went sailing (you can catch the Sarah Mead right at the SPI dock), kayaking (free while staying at the inn), hiking on the grounds, swimming in the salt water pool, enjoyed s'mores every evening and tried our first lobster. All in a weekend. Would definitely return. It's worth the money and the few minutes of additional driving to stay here vs. in town.

Room Tip: Recommend room #2. Amazing view. Pictures online are of the specific room you're booking and wer...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73,194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Doing an 11 day road trip of the Northeast and this was the part of our trip that we scheduled to be quiet and relaxing. It was just that! We got in late and it was a nice surprise to find out our room had been upgraded. The check-in lady was very friendly and such a good first impression. The room was big and cozy and we loved the fireplace. Our favorite things: Our room opened to a covered patio with 2 rocking chairs, the bathrobes, the complimentary water at check-in, the room had a Keurig and the bathroom essentials were from Bath and Body Works! The only downside was that we didn't stay long enough to use the amenities of the resort. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelsUp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we pulled up to the Inn, we were in love. Clarissa at the front desk was a "doll" she was a wealth of information and had such a winning sense of humor. She made sure each time we saw her that our stay was as we expected and if there was anything she could do for us. She was great!! She even called our room to see how our stay was and if she could be of help. No question we had was unanswered. Andrew, the bell hop/van driver was so sweet and polite. He is a great worker who takes his job to heart. He always took a few minutes in his very busy day to speak to us. Great job Andrew. Capt'n Shawn was wonderful as well. He was a great tour guide when he took to and fro the harbor. Shawn has such wonderful tales to tell and knows so much about the history of the sea...Thanks Capt'n!
And if that isn't enough, the setting is stunning and the grounds are so pretty and restaurants are terrific. Great food and service. Cant wait to come back next year. I felt spoiled!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Crows Nest". It is small, but when you go out onto the deck and sit and...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alxjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Spruce Point for two nights during Windjammer days and would definitely go back. We stayed in the Puffin lodge building which has a nice view of the ocean from the porch and a little cheaper than "ocean front". Quieter as well. The room was in great condition, had AC, clean and the bath was fantastic. The resort is a mix of old down-east main cabins and update hotel like rooms with an array or activities including bike riding, volleyball, badminton, video games, ping pong, fishing, camp fire (smores) and hiking trails. We took advantage of all that we had time for including the free shuttle with Sean. He gave us a tour of an eagles nest and a closeup of the incoming windjammers and was vey entertaining. We ate lunch and dinner here and although the dinner was very good there was a mix up with our order but it didn't deter us from having a great time. The food was fresh and cooked perfectly. The only small downside was when we ordered a vodka tonic on the deck with lunch and it came served in one of those plastic airline cups. The kind that are sometimes used to serve white wine. They only hold about 8oz of liquid not including ice. I asked if this was the typical glass they served a mixed drink in because it is very small and the reply was that it had the same amount of alcohol as the glasses used in the restaurant which I thought was an odd reply. We id not visit the spa for lack of time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved our stay at Spruce Point Inn.
The location is the best, the hotel and the grounds were all first rate.
Sean captained the launch for us as we went into town and he added a short tour guide overview of the harbor and some of the antique sailboats. Just fantastic.

CAUTION NOTE: Most of the old historic resorts, guest lodges and B&B spots in Maine have no air conditoning. This is very common as it goes back to the days before global warming when Maine summers were more moderate.
If you want A/C accomodations in Maine-ASK ABOUT IT!

We loved this place and our stay there-I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ask about A/C availability if you want it-We did.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studebhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is advertised as a resort which made me think it would be very accommodating. I arrived in my room to fnd it had no AC. I called the desk and told them nothing on the site when I made my reservations said no AC. My answer was we only put information about accommodations with AC. We can bring you fans. So we say ok let fans run let's drive to town get some supplies. We come back thinking we can eat at one of the 3 restaurants we were told about when we checked in. Wrong you must have reservations unless you wanted to wait 2 + hours. So tired from traveling we drive back to town to eat. Lobster Dock was wonderful eat there if you go not Spruce Inn. Next day we go up to ask what time the boat leaves again we had been told it leaves every hour and picks up in town on the half hour. We are ask is you name on the list to go to town...we had not been told it was necessary was lead to believe you just show up. Boast was late leaving no set times to return you had to set that with captain..he was always late. So that makes 3 strikes already against the serve. Next day we had to ask to have our room cleaned..they only give clean towels and make bed no change of sheets...they do not bring new cosmetic supplies shampoo soap etc. They do not refill the coffee supples including no cups. We had to go up front to the reception to get our own supplies. Wifi didn't work while we were in our cottage. It appears as far as service they really don't know what they are doing.
The area was beautiful. Wonderful sunsets every night. BEST of the trip was the sail boat tour with Nate.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice area is beautiful but don't expect any service from the staff
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chien1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry you felt that Spruce Point Inn was "not what you would expect". As I said to a previous guest, it was very warm last week along the east coast of the US. It was historically warm for Maine. I know this made things sticky and uncomfortable for some guests so we have ordered another 12 AC units in case it gets warm like this again. As it says in our materials, we will provide AC for our cottages and cottage rooms, should you desire it. We will not run out of them again. This morning it is a cool 64 with highs in the mid-70's. Beautiful Summer conditions on the coast of Maine.

I know that you were frustrated but is only fair that I clear up a few things in your review.

In our materials, I make at least 5 attempts to encourage dining reservations, which is I think about as much as you would like me to do. The Inn is very full in the Summer months. Guests make reservations in advance to ensure the time they would like to dine. We have very special restaurants and pride ourselves on this experience. The restaurants are well attended.

The Inn offers a complimentary Bristol Harbor boat launch to take you to town or for a tour of the islands. As a professionally crewed transport, we are required to have your name for a manifest and since we limit guests to 15 on each trip, we ask that you let the front desk know when you would like to join us. You do not need to make reservations in advance before arrival to the hotel. If you miss one of the trips, the launch will be back to pick you up in a short while. It runs from 10am to 6pm, daily. Sometimes due to weather conditions, the launch may need to travel a bit slower than normal. It can run late. But will always be running. Rain, Shine, Fog!!

Housekeeping also visits your room daily and provides fresh towels and sundries including complimentary coffee, tea, and water. If you would like a little bit more than service for 2 guests, please just let us know. Bottom sheets are changed every two days, unless you request that they be changed every day. Top sheets are changed every day.

Again, I am sorry about the heat last week. We tried our best to serve you well and compensate you for the discomfort from the temperature.

I appreciate the opportunity to respond to your review.

Sincerely,

Angelo DiGiulian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
460 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $182 - $760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Condé Nast 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing