We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Getaway”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We did a quick Sniqueaway for the weekend and loved it! Our room had a king sized bed, faced the bay, and had an outside balcony on which we would sit and watch the boats come in. The room was large and had a sofa; very comfortable beds and great pillows! The resort has a ton of things to do for both adults and kids. I had a 90 minute deep tissue massage which was the best I have ever had. Jen was amazing--I can't recommend her or the spa enough. The only reason I did not give this resort a 5 was I found the food OK, but not great.

We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We were in Evergreen-up the hill with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPCCapital, Owner at Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your consideration and review of your recent stay at the Inn. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The Inn's dining experience is Very important to us. I greatly appreciate your comments and will strive to better your experience on your next stay at the Inn. Please contact me upon your return to the Inn. adigiulian@sprucepointinn.com

Sincerely,

Ange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    160
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
312
376
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
202 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this place and the first night was the first open day of the season. The unit that we had was straight on for a western sunset. We had 3 glorious, clear days of sun. Warm in the day and cool at night. We biked, boated, and hiked locally. WE brought some cheese and wine with us and toasted the sunset every night. It's a great place to relax. The breakfast buffet is a good deal. One morning we went out to Mama D's for breakfast. The food was good , but was the same price as the Spruce Point Inn. It was an easy ride from Boston. I'll come back.

Room Tip: Make sure can see the sun setting. On a clear day, it's a sight to behold. We were in Loon#3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HalzBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family of 10 adults and 8 kids spent one night at the SPI and wished we could have spent more. Some notes I took from our trip that made it special and worth 5 stars:

* Remote. Took a while to drive all the way to Boothbay Harbor so great for relaxing and getting away from it all.
* Staff was friendly and helpful. We had 18 people for dinner and they accommodated us nicely -- even though we were taking our time and were the last ones out of the restaurant.
* Restaurant food was lovely. The Maine fiddlehead ferns they served was very interesting.
* Lots of activities for the kids. Swimming, sailing, fishing (though no one has caught anything ever at the pier), biking, ping pong/game room, hiking, jig-zaws, kayaking; and just sitting in the sun.
* Rooms were newly renovated and lots of choices in terms of budget. We had 5 rooms and our room rates ranged from $99 to $249. All of them had comfy beds and only varied in terms of views, bed configuration and certain amenities.
* Kids loved the treats set out for dogs at registration.
* Historical Maine inn so although the amenities are modern, we always had a sense of history. Just a little overboard with the "The Kennedys summered here" bit but that's part of the charm.
* Laundry facilities made packing convenient as we could just bring overnight bags.
* Grounds were well kept-up and landscaped and the views of the ocean are incredible. Were concerned about the famous black flies but didn't encounter any at Boothbay Harbor.

All in all, we loved the property. We were disappointed that the boat to town was not available as they hadn't got the permit yet and would have appreciated their website disclosing that the boat is not always available early in the season. But there were plenty of other things to entertain. A true resort -- unlike some hotels that just slap on the "resort" label and the only thing to do is swimming. All in all, highly recommended for family reunions and romantic hideaways.

Room Tip: make sure you specify what you expect from your view. Some "ocean view" rooms only have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Spent a weekend at the Spruce Point Inn and loved everything about it.
The rooms were amazing with a very comfortable bed and a fabulous view.
The property is large and there are so many areas to relax and take in the tranquil beauty.

Ate breakfast and lunch at the Inn and the food was excellent. For dinners we enjoyed amazing seafood in Boothbay Harbor. Great litle town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

What an incredibly beautiful spot! It is a beautiful inn and a great spot to stay. Very quiet and relaxing. You cannot take yours eyes off the view.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Real Food Institute (realfoodinstitute.org) held its first training for institutional foodservice, rolling out time saving recipes for school and institutional meals, utilizing local foods. The evaluations reinforced many comments that the location and setting were fabulous, which helped make this experience, as one foodservice director put it, "the best professional development I've had in 14 years." SPI ownership, chef Stiles, and crew paid attention to every detail. Pemaquid Hall and Linekin Bay provided lovely space for breakout sessions, kitchen work, and plenary functions. There was plenty of parking and easy pick-up/drop-off of for field trips. Hiking trails and the beautiful location offered relaxation and an opportunity to enjoy the outdoors and recharge between sessions. Location, location, location. Thanks to Cindy, Cherie, Joe, Angelo, Chef Stiles and all for making our event a success. I highly recommend the place if you are considering a professional retreat, workshop or conference. (If you are having a wedding, it is a no-brainer!)

Room Tip: We did not overnight, but Starboard and Sunset are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

What a beautiful and wonderful hotel!! We were fortunate enough to stay in one of the individual cabins that still had the feel of an old lake cabin like I remember growing up in Minnesota (and are still around!). Being able to sit on the porch enjoying the great views of the ocean was simply the best. The staff could not have been more helpful and courtesy to us and grounds are spectacular. If you ever have a chance to go to Boothbay Harbor, by all means, stay at the Spruce Point Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyHBNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing