We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Millersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We recently stayed in the Inn for a wedding and had a wonderful time. Great food and friendly staff made this location a site not to miss. Daily muffins and cookies added the home touch and the suggestions of the desk staff gave us information to experience the area like a local person. Captain Shawn was a very informed man about local sites and nature and gave us a very personal sailing adventure. Experiencing sunsets over the harbor and watching the lobsterman harvest their catch was breathtaking. We extended our stay and will be back next year. We met two of the owners and they also showed extreme interest in providing a quality experience for their guests. We also experienced a fantastic wedding where all the details were covered. SPI is a great location for a getaway or wedding destination.

Room Tip: The Main Inn has older rooms with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    162
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
318
389
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went to this hotel in October after having to rebook our vacation from June due to the loss of our son. We ended up getting married and making this our honeymoon. We can't think of a single bad thing to say about it. The service was excellent. Isaiah helped with our kayaks and was amazing and friendly. Shawn (Captain Shawn) provided boating to Burnt Island and took us on a boat tour of the harbor area. He then boated us to Robinsons to eat dinner. The young man from Romania that was employed there showed us around different rooms for us to decide which place to stay in next year. Every staff member treated us with upmost respect and kindness. There was coffee out at all times and tea and mulled cider with cinnamon sticks. They had fresh baked goods out most of the day that were yummy. They have bottled water and the keurig machines in the rooms and in the lobby. The view from the lobby is breathtaking. We sat there a few times and just read in the wicker chairs. It was too cold to make use of the pools and we were so busy shopping in town that we didnt get to try out the spa or hot tubs. We are already making plans for next year. This is a definite family vacation....see you next year Spruce Point...oh and btw the best breakfast buffet ever! They don't even need to pay us for the great advertising we will be doing of this hotel. Try it out and tell me if you won't want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently got married at the Spruce Point Inn and with that, spent several nights at the Inn. We also had most of our guests staying on-site. It was FABULOUS. Words truly cannot describe the sheer beauty of the property. The views are unmatched, and the staff goes so far above and beyond the call of duty. Every single employee we encountered at the Spruce was a sheer delight. We honestly can't say enough. We actually had three couples extend their weekend so they could stay an extra night despite the wedding festivities having come to an end! As for amenities and activities, the Spruce has everything you'd ever be looking for. You can kayak right from their ocean front dock, or borrow bicycles for the day. They also have a water taxi of sorts that will shuttle guests to and from town. The pools are gorgeous, and the spa was amazing (highly recommend the organic facial!!!). The restaurants and bars on-site are wonderful as well. It's worth noting how kid-friendly the Spruce is - We had several of our young nieces and nephews in town for the wedding, and they had a blast in the kids activity center and at the playground. Thanks to the Spruce our wedding weekend was the most magical weekend ever! We look forward to visiting again and again and again...!

Room Tip: The views are absolutely stunning from any of the several ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed to enjoy our 7 year anniversary. And we quickly realized what a gem we had found. There is no comparable hotel/resort. The Spruce Point Inn is the place to stay.
With exceptional views and spectacular service, the SPI is the best!!


  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxserio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, ma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Stayed one night, but wish we stayed two.! Had a beautiful room with a great view; spacious and clean. Massage at the Spa was fabulous. Dinner in 88 was delicious and atmosphere was lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in Evergreen on 2nd floor. Very quiet; wonderful view and close to the Main Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We also stayed in one of the upstairs Evergreen rooms, and loved the view from the balcony, the stove in the room, and the huge bathroom. The staff was pleasant, the grounds pretty. Very clean, comfy bed with a thick comforter, and for once my husband didn't keep me awake moaning "I miss my temperpedic"!

Room Tip: We really liked the sunset from upstair at the Evergreen building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Fabulous resort with wonderful amenities. Remember the resort in the Dirty Dancing movie; 1950's, you vacationed with your family at the same resort each year, met the same families, activites abounded for the kids, adults enjoyed the view and being with 'yearly' friends. This resort spoke to us in the same way. From the salt water pool, kayaks and canoes available on your private dock, decks beseached with adirondeck chairs, life size checkers and hula hoops, fat tired bikes for cruising, rooms in little 'inns' - all were wonderful.
We stayed in the Balsa Inn in a beautiful ocean view room, lovely covered deck with adirondeck chairs and power, so we could sip our wine and work on our wifi driven computer. The king size bed was in a very large room complete with wood stove and refrigerator.
Didn't get to the restaurant as we arrived late, but the entire front house/registration/restaurants looked like what you think of when you think of Maine, east coast, wood floors, french doors, pictures from the original owners. We were smitten. Only wish we could have stayed another night to take the free motor boat into town for some shopping or taken a schooner in the harbor or enjoyed kayaking in the bay.
We hope to make a return trip. It will be well worth the 15 hour flight.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - being downstairs was a tad noisy from guests above us. Some of the lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassysue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
423 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa

Property: Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Address: 88 Grandview Ave, PO Box 237, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINE'S CLASSIC OCEANSIDE RESORT A Conde Nast 2016 'Top 20 Northeast Resort' and Downeast Magazine 2016 'Best Hotel/Resort in Maine', Spruce Point Inn is exactly what most guests picture when they think of an oceanside resort in Maine. For more than 125 years, the Inn has attracted travelers from across the United States and provided a refreshing backdrop for families and friends to create 'treasured oceanside memories made in Maine'. On a private 100 acre peninsula on the ocean overlooking the entrance to Boothbay Harbor and Burnt Island Lighthouse, the Spruce Point Inn is an ideal venue for memorable reunions, seaside weddings, romantic getaways and business retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Point Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Spruce Point Resort
Spruce Point Inn Resort And Spa Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing